BlockBefore

Snake Creek Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.

From the record

One of 38 National Register listings published here for Wasatch County · listed in 1989 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. UT 220, Heber City, 84049
  • When was it listed? April 1989
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Electric Power Plants of Utah MPS
  • Census division. North Wasatch
  • National Register reference number. 89000279 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

118 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 118 fires within 5 miles of Snake Creek Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 729 acres in total. 19 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined35
Recreation and ceremony21
Natural19
Debris and open burning19
Equipment and vehicle use6
Fireworks6
Arson/incendiarism5
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Smoking2
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Other causes1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2018Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreUinta-Wasatch-Cache National ForestMARY
8 September 1999Debris and open burningunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSWEAT
6 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsGUARDSMAN PASS-CLOUD RIM
6 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBONANZA-CLOUD RIM
5 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsDEER VALLEY
5 September 1992Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsGUARDSMAN PASS
4 September 2006Debris and open burningunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBRIGHTON ESTATES
30 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsMIDWAY 6TH SO.

Every fire recorded in Wasatch County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 140 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 140 workings within 5 miles of Snake Creek Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District: 89 past producers, 27 occurrences, 17 producers, 6 prospects. 17 still produce. What was taken out: Copper, Lead, Silver, Lead, Silver, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Anchor ShaftSilver, Zinc, Lead, Gold, CopperPast Producer
Balmount Atlanta TunnelSilver, Zinc, Lead, Gold, CopperPast Producer1875
Balmount ShaftZinc, Lead, Silver, Gold, CopperPast Producer1907, 1925, 1952
Bay State MineSilver, Lead, Antimony, Zinc, Barium-BaritePast ProducerBarite, Sphalerite, Stibnite
Bay State MineLead, Silver, Antimony, Barium-Barite, ZincOccurrence1912, 1915, 1919
Bay State MineLead, Zinc, Silver, Antimony, Barium-BaritePast Producer
Big and Little Cottonwood DistrictsSilver, Lead, Cobalt, Gold, ZincPast Producer1864
California MineLead, Zinc, Silver, Copper, Antimony, SulfurPast Producer
Comstock MineLead, Copper, Iron, Zinc, SilverPast Producer
Cottonwood Canyon Stone QuarryStone, DimensionPast ProducerSurface

Every working recorded in Wasatch County

Storms near this property

9 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Heber City, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1994 and 2006: 4 thunderstorm wind, 4 hail, 1 lightning. The reports record 1 death and 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2001Thunderstorm WindHeber City1 killed, 1 hurt, $1,000Two men were canoeing on Jordanelle Reservoir when thunderstorm outflow winds estimated at 45mph (39kts) capsized the canoe. The men were thrown into the 34 degree water about 25 feet from shore, but they were pushed out further by the wind as they hung onto the canoe. They both became hypothermic, and the 27-year-old man let go of the canoe and drowned. The other man was rescued and sent to the hospital, where he recovered.
July 2002Thunderstorm WindHeber City$30,000Thunderstorm winds estimated at 60-70 mph (52-61 kts) blew through portions of Heber City, blowing down trees and power lines and taking shingles off roofs.
August 2004LightningHeber City$15,000no account filed
June 2002Thunderstorm WindHeber City$1,000no account filed
August 2006HailHeber City-Near Jordanelle Reservoir
August 2006HailHeber City-at Jordanelle Reservior
September 2005HailHeber City-Large hail at Strawberry reservoir
June 1996HailHeber City-no account filed
May 1994Thunderstorm WindHeber City-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Wasatch County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
John Huber House and Creamery1.2 miles1988
Schneitter Hotel2.7 miles1992
Midway Town Hall3.4 miles1994
Wilson House and Farmstead3.4 miles2007
Burgener-Boss Farmstead3.4 miles1994
William Coleman House3.5 miles1986

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89000279 in Record Group 79.
Wasatch CountyAll 38 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.