BlockBefore

Cutler Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1989.

From the record

One of 45 National Register listings published here for Box Elder County · listed in 1989 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Off UT 30 at Bear River, Beaver Dam, 84306
  • When was it listed? April 1989
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Electric Power Plants of Utah MPS
  • Census division. Tremonton
  • National Register reference number. 89000280 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

64 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Cutler Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 4,025 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined37
Equipment and vehicle use7
Debris and open burning6
Natural6
Arson/incendiarism4
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Power generation/transmission/distribution2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undetermined3,100 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsWEST HILLS
3 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsLONG DIVIDE I
3 September 1993Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBEAVER DAM 2400 WEST
18 September 1999Natural2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsLONG DIVIDE II
13 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsMALAD RIVER BOTTOMS
1 September 2020Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsWEST CANAL
1 September 1998Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSR30 MP2
1 September 1998Debris and open burning200 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsBRAD PETERSON

Every fire recorded in Box Elder County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Cutler Hydroelectric Power Plant Historic District: 4 occurrences, 2 producers, 2 past producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
ClarkstonSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrenceUnconsolidated Sediments
ClarkstonSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Collingston PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerSand
Collingston PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hansen PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrenceUnconsolidated Sediments
Hansen PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
UnknownSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSedimentary
UnknownSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Box Elder County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hampton's Ford Stage Stop and Barn4.3 miles1971
Plymouth School5.5 miles1986

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 89000280 in Record Group 79.
Box Elder CountyAll 45 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.