BlockBefore
Photograph of Peterson-Burr House
Photograph by Tricia Simpson, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Peterson-Burr House

Built in 1900 (Queen Anne style). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1994.

From the record

“The Peterson-Burr House is a historic two-story house in Salina, Utah. Peterson, an immigrant from Denmark who became a furniture and hardware store owner in Salina, and served as the mayor and as a member of the Utah State Legislature.”

Wikipedia article Peterson-Burr House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 20 National Register listings published here for Sevier County · listed in 1994 · category: Building · built in 1900, Queen Anne style.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Peterson--Burr House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 190 W. Main, Salina, 84654
  • When was it listed? February 1994
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Salina
  • When was it built? 1900
  • Architectural style. Queen Anne style
  • National Register reference number. 94000037 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

48 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 48 fires within 5 miles of Peterson-Burr House between 1993 and 2020, burning about 444 acres in total. 14 started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Natural14
Missing data/not specified/undetermined13
Debris and open burning5
Equipment and vehicle use4
Arson/incendiarism4
Recreation and ceremony3
Fireworks2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1993Misuse of fire by a minorunder an acreRichfield Field OfficeAURORATANK
4 September 2006Debris and open burning2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSTONE QUARRY ROAD
21 September 2007Fireworks14 acresRichfield Field OfficeGAP
2 September 2006Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreRichfield Field OfficeNS HILL
18 September 2019Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State Lands231
7 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreCentral AreaCLAY MILL LANE
5 August 2009Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestMP 59 I-70
4 August 2004Naturalunder an acreFishlake National ForestSOUTH SALINA

Every fire recorded in Sevier County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 21 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 21 workings within 5 miles of Peterson-Burr House: 13 past producers, 8 producers. 8 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Limestone, Dimension, Clay, Lead, Zinc, Copper, Strontium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Lead HillLead, Zinc, Copper, StrontiumPast ProducerReplacement
Lead Hill MineSilver, Zinc, Lead, CopperPast Producer1908
Redmond Silver MineZinc, LeadPast ProducerHydrozincite, Smithsonite
Redmond Silver MineZinc, Silver, LeadPast Producer1915
First Red Knoll Bentonite PitClayProducer
Lime Kiln QuarriesLimestone, DimensionPast Producer
Second Red Knoll Bentonite PitClayPast Producer
Willow Creek Limestone ProspectLimestone, DimensionPast Producer
Airport Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Redmond Cemetery Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerUnconsolidated Sediments

Every working recorded in Sevier County

Storms near this property

5 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Salina, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 2002 and 2014: 4 thunderstorm wind, 1 lightning. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
June 2005LightningSalina1 hurtConstruction Worker hit by lightning. Extent of injuries unknown.
May 2014Thunderstorm WindSalina-The Fremont Junction sensor recorded a peak wind gust of 58 mph.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindSalina-A maximum wind gust of 60 mph was recorded at the Fremont Junction sensor.
September 2009Thunderstorm WindSalina-The Fremont Junction sensor recorded a wind gust of 60 mph.
June 2002Thunderstorm WindSalina-Strong microburst winds moved through Salina early in the afternoon.

Every storm recorded in Sevier County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

5 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Salina Municipal Building and Libraryunder 500 feet1986
Salina Hospital0.2 miles1980
Salina Presbyterian Church0.3 miles1980
Redmond Hotel3.3 miles1980
Redmond Town Hall3.3 miles1976

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 94000037 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Sevier CountyAll 20 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.