BlockBefore
Photograph of Riverton Elementary School
Photograph by Kmw usa, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Riverton Elementary School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1996.

From the record

“Redwood Rd. in Riverton, Utah, was built during 1925-30 and is the oldest public school building surviving in Riverton. According to its NRHP nomination in 1996, it is significant historically as representing "the adaptation of schools to meet the needs associated with providing appropriately sized and wholesomely designed spaces in which children could be taught," and for its long service in the community of Riverton.”

Wikipedia article Riverton Elementary School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 399 National Register listings published here for Salt Lake County · listed in 1996 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 12830 S. Redwood Rd., Riverton, 84065
  • When was it listed? August 1996
  • Category. building
  • Census division. Salt Lake City
  • National Register reference number. 96000872 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

13 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 13 fires within 5 miles of Riverton Elementary School between 1994 and 2020, burning about 41 acres in total. 2 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Natural2
Recreation and ceremony1
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Fireworks1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
19 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsTONYA
13 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsPRESERVE
29 August 2019Power generation/transmission/distribution1.5 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsSPRINGVIEW ASSIST
9 July 2006Natural25 acresSalt Lake Field OfficeTRAVERSE MTN
5 July 1994Natural1.0 acresUinta-Wasatch-Cache National ForestCOLD SPRING
4 July 2014Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsPOLE
26 July 1999Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsHARDMAN
24 July 2003Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.5 acresUtah Division Forestry Fire State LandsWAGON WHEEL

Every fire recorded in Salt Lake County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 30 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 30 workings within 5 miles of Riverton Elementary School: 14 past producers, 14 producers, 1 unknown, 1 occurrence. 14 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Manganese, Limestone, General, Manganese, Geothermal. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Crystal Hot SpringsGeothermalUnknown
Evans Limestone QuarryLimestone, General, ManganesePast Producer1914
Subsurface BrinesBromineProducer1914, 1917
Evans Lime QuarryManganeseProducer
Evans Lime QuarryManganesePast Producer1930
Bluffdale Sw Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Maple Hollow Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast ProducerSurface
Olivers Siding Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer1982
Point of the Mountain Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducerUnconsolidated Sediments
Salt Lake Valley Sand and GravelSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Salt Lake County

Storms near this property

8 since 1996

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Riverton, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 1996 and 2024: 6 hail, 1 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
September 2002Flash FloodRiverton$200,000no account filed
June 2002Thunderstorm WindRiverton$5,000no account filed
June 2024HailRiverton-One inch diameter hail was reported near Draper.
August 2014HailRiverton-Penny sized hail was reported in Riverton.
July 2013HailRiverton-A member of the public in Riverton reported penny-size hail.
August 2010HailRiverton-Hail estimated to be 0.75 inches in diameter was reported near Riverton.
August 2008HailRiverton-One inch diameter hail was reported near Riverton.
May 1996HailRiverton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Salt Lake County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Beckstead-Butterfield House0.3 miles2021
Riverton Historic District0.6 miles2004
Draper-Steadman House0.9 miles1992
Utah State Penitentiary Chapel by the Wayside2.8 miles2026
Garside-McMullin House3.0 miles1982
Samuel and Geneva Holt Farmstead3.2 miles2001

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 96000872 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Salt Lake CountyAll 399 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.