Dayton, Washington
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1937 and the latest in 1981. It stands in the Dayton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 99328. It lies near Johnson Hollow. The Survey maps it on the Dayton quadrangle. 2,448 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 1,660 feet above sea level.
Research this city
On record in Dayton
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 12 of 18 shown
A. H. Bishop Houselisted 1986
John Brining Houselisted 1986
Columbia County Courthouselisted 1975
Dayton Depotlisted 1974
Dexter House No. 1listed 1986
Dexter House No. 2listed 1986
Frank Flintner Houselisted 1986
Guernsey-Sturdevant Buildinglisted 1993
Grover J. Israel Houselisted 1986
Mancel Kelley Houselisted 1986
Mill Houselisted 1986
Andrew Nilsson Houselisted 1986
Population over time
2 figuresDayton fell from 2,526 to 2,448 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 2,526 | |
| 2020 | 2,448 | -78 (-3%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
7 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1937 USGS Pomeroy quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1937 USGS Pomeroy quadrangle1:96000
- 1942 USGS Pomeroy quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1955 USGS Pullman quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Pullman quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1967 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1981 USGS Clarkston quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
6 since 2006Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 6 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 2006 and 2020, burning about 918 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 September 2011 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Washington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters | BMIDC 1010 - SOUTH TOUCHEE |
| 26 August 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Columbia County Fire Districts | INC 994 |
| 2 August 2006 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 800 acres | Washington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters | not named |
| 18 August 2014 | Arson/incendiarism | 7.2 acres | Washington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters | BMIDC INC 995 |
| 12 August 2014 | Natural | 100 acres | Washington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters | BMIDC INC 914 - CORRAL HOLLOW |
| 18 April 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 acres | Washington State Department of Natural Resources Headquarters | MUSTARD HOLLOW |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
8 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 7 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dayton | Clay | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Borrow Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Gaines Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Patit Creek Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarryy | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer |
Storms near this place
13 since 1998Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 13 storm reports between 1998 and 2026: 6 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 heavy rain, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| January 2000 | Tornado (F1) | Dayton | $100,000 | no account filed |
| July 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | $50,000 | Thunderstorm winds downed trees on power lines and at least one house. |
| March 2026 | Flood | Dayton | - | The Columbia County Emergency Managers office reported flooding of residences and water over roadways in the town of Dayton the morning of the 14th. Drone footage over Dayton taken on the 14th showed the Touchet river overflowing it's banks into numerous properties adjacent to the river, with flooding also along the Patit Creek that runs through the northern portion of Dayton. |
| February 2020 | Flood | Dayton | - | The North Fork and main Fork of the Touchet River as well as Coppei Creek and the Tuccanon River saw major flooding with numerous roads, bridges and home affected. 19 roads were closed, 21 bridges have moderate to severe damage, 144 homes were damaged and over 500 minor structures ( culverts, smaller bridges) affected. No dollar estimate at this time. |
| May 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Trees and powerlines down in Dayton. |
| September 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Trees and power lines down. |
| September 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Trees and power lines down. |
| June 2012 | Hail | Dayton | - | Hail damaged window covers on truck. |
| March 2011 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Dayton Middle School recorded a gust to 59 mph. |
| July 1998 | Heavy Rain | Dayton | - | Up to two inches of rain fell in 45 minutes. Flooding was reported along Patit Creek. Water washed out nearby roads and mudslides covered some roads with as much as three inches of mud. 1/2 inch hail also fell. |
| September 2013 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| August 2001 | Lightning | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| May 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baileysburg | 2.0 miles | 14 | |
| Long | 3.6 miles | 10 | |
| Ronan | 3.8 miles | 14 | |
| Dumas | 5.3 miles | 10 | |
| Patit | 6.0 miles | 16 | |
| Whetstone | 6.2 miles | 13 | |
| Varna | 6.3 miles | 10 | |
| Mountain Home Park | 7.3 miles | 14 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q925426 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1504356. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.






