BlockBefore
Photograph of J. A. Thronson House
Photograph by Jon Roanhaus, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

J. A. Thronson House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1986.

From the record

One of 20 National Register listings published here for Columbia County · listed in 1986 · category: Building.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Thronson, J. A., House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 510 S. Fourth, Dayton, 99328
  • When was it listed? August 1986
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Historic Houses of Dayton TR
  • Census division. Dayton
  • Architectural style. Queen Anne style architecture in the United States
  • National Register reference number. 86001532 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

8 since 2006

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 8 fires within 5 miles of J. A. Thronson House between 2006 and 2020, burning about 920 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined4
Power generation/transmission/distribution1
Arson/incendiarism1
Recreation and ceremony1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
25 September 2011Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreWashington State Department of Natural Resources HeadquartersBMIDC 1010 - SOUTH TOUCHEE
26 August 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreColumbia County Fire DistrictsINC 994
2 August 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined800 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources Headquartersnot named
18 August 2014Arson/incendiarism7.2 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources HeadquartersBMIDC INC 995
12 August 2014Natural100 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources HeadquartersBMIDC INC 914 - CORRAL HOLLOW
18 July 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWashington State Department of Natural Resources Headquartersnot named
27 May 2017Recreation and ceremony1.5 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources HeadquartersLEWIS AND CLARK
18 April 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresWashington State Department of Natural Resources HeadquartersMUSTARD HOLLOW

Every fire recorded in Columbia County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of J. A. Thronson House: 7 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
DaytonClayPast Producer
Unnamed PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Borrow PitStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Gaines QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Patit Creek QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unnamed QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Unnamed QuarryyStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Columbia County

Storms near this property

13 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1998 and 2026: 6 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood, 1 heavy rain, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
January 2000Tornado (F1)Dayton$100,000no account filed
July 2012Thunderstorm WindDayton$50,000Thunderstorm winds downed trees on power lines and at least one house.
March 2026FloodDayton-The Columbia County Emergency Managers office reported flooding of residences and water over roadways in the town of Dayton the morning of the 14th. Drone footage over Dayton taken on the 14th showed the Touchet river overflowing it's banks into numerous properties adjacent to the river, with flooding also along the Patit Creek that runs through the northern portion of Dayton.
February 2020FloodDayton-The North Fork and main Fork of the Touchet River as well as Coppei Creek and the Tuccanon River saw major flooding with numerous roads, bridges and home affected. 19 roads were closed, 21 bridges have moderate to severe damage, 144 homes were damaged and over 500 minor structures ( culverts, smaller bridges) affected. No dollar estimate at this time.
May 2020Thunderstorm WindDayton-Trees and powerlines down in Dayton.
September 2013Thunderstorm WindDayton-Trees and power lines down.
September 2013Thunderstorm WindDayton-Trees and power lines down.
June 2012HailDayton-Hail damaged window covers on truck.
March 2011Thunderstorm WindDayton-Dayton Middle School recorded a gust to 59 mph.
July 1998Heavy RainDayton-Up to two inches of rain fell in 45 minutes. Flooding was reported along Patit Creek. Water washed out nearby roads and mudslides covered some roads with as much as three inches of mud. 1/2 inch hail also fell.
September 2013Flash FloodDayton-no account filed
August 2001LightningDayton-no account filed
May 2000Thunderstorm WindDayton-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Columbia County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Dexter House No. 1under 500 feet1986
Frank Flintner House0.2 miles1986
Grover J. Israel House0.2 miles1986
South Side Historic District0.2 miles1986
Dr. Marcel Pietrzycki House0.3 miles1986
Downtown Dayton Historic District0.4 miles1999

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 86001532 in Record Group 79.
Columbia CountyAll 20 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.