BlockBefore
Photograph of Forest Lodge Library
Photograph by Billertl, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Forest Lodge Library

Built in 1926 (rustic architecture). Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.

From the record

“The Forest Lodge Library is located in Cable, Wisconsin. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2001.”

Wikipedia article Forest Lodge Library, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 21 National Register listings published here for Bayfield County · listed in 2001 · category: Building · built in 1926, rustic architecture, by Reed and Stem.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 13450 Cty Hwy M, Cable, 54821
  • When was it listed? July 2001
  • Category. building
  • Town. Cable town
  • When was it built? 1926
  • Architectural style. rustic architecture
  • Architect. Reed and Stem
  • National Register reference number. 01000735 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

46 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 46 fires within 5 miles of Forest Lodge Library between 1994 and 2020, burning about 24 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined12
Debris and open burning11
Power generation/transmission/distribution9
Recreation and ceremony4
Arson/incendiarism4
Smoking2
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Other causes1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
15 September 2014Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesBRULE NUMBER 3
11 September 2003Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreChequamegon-Nicolet National ForestCABLE POWERLINE
4 July 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
4 July 2001Fireworksunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
25 July 2006Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
10 July 1997Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 June 2020Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesRIVER BOTTOM
8 June 2019Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreChequamegon-Nicolet National ForestLAKE OWEN ROAD

Every fire recorded in Bayfield County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 34 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 34 workings within 5 miles of Forest Lodge Library: 16 occurrences, 16 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Copper, Silver, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Unnamed Prospect Near Lake OwenCopper, SilverOccurrence
Unnamed Prospect Near Lake OwenCopperOccurrence
August Voigt Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Cable Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Cable Gravel Pit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Charlotte G. Perry Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Crest View Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Darrell Krouse Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Ellen W. Miller Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Elmer E. Gruel Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Bayfield County

Storms near this property

14 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Cable, the town this property stands in, in 14 storm reports between 1999 and 2023: 7 hail, 6 thunderstorm wind, 1 funnel cloud. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2023Thunderstorm WindCable-A tree fell on a powerline sparking a small fire which was quickly contained.
July 2016Thunderstorm WindCable-A few trees were blown down.
August 2013Thunderstorm WindCable-Many trees and power lines were blown down near Cable.
July 2010HailCable-Gusty winds also accompanied the hail.
June 2010Funnel CloudCable-A persistent funnel cloud was reported.
September 2005Thunderstorm WindCable-Straight-line winds knocked down trees and power lines from the Sawyer County line through Cable, Drummond, and Mason to the Ashland County line. There was also minor structural damage.
August 2005Thunderstorm WindCable-Trees were blown down.
June 2020HailCable-no account filed
September 2011HailCable-no account filed
September 2011HailCable-no account filed
May 2006HailCable-no account filed
July 1999HailCable-no account filed
June 1999HailCable-no account filed
June 1999Thunderstorm WindCable-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Bayfield County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 01000735 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Bayfield CountyAll 21 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.