BlockBefore
Photograph of Barteau Bridge
Photograph by Royalbroil, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Barteau Bridge

Built in 1906. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2002.

From the record

“The Barteau Bridge, also known as Shioc Road Bridge, is a four-arch limestone arch bridge in Bovina, Wisconsin built during 1905-06. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2002 for its engineering significance.”

Wikipedia article Barteau Bridge, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 51 National Register listings published here for Outagamie County · listed in 2002 · category: Structure · built in 1906.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. N. of WI 187 crossing of Shioc R., Bovina, 54170
  • When was it listed? March 2002
  • Category. structure
  • Town. Bovina town
  • When was it built? 1906
  • National Register reference number. 02000285 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

28 since 1999

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Barteau Bridge between 1999 and 2020, burning about 121 acres in total. None started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism11
Debris and open burning10
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
13 July 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources118
8 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources49
8 May 2018Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesDITCH FIRE
7 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources47
7 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources48
7 May 2018Arson/incendiarism1.3 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHERMAN FIRE
7 May 2018Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesPIG FIRE
10 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources51

Every fire recorded in Outagamie County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Barteau Bridge: 7 past producers, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
J Marcks Dolomite DepositStone, Crushed/BrokenOccurrence
John Wolf Dolomite QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Clyde Main Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Clyde Main Gravel Pit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kirschner Road Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Kirschner Road Gravel Pit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Murphy Const. Co. Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
W Pingel Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Outagamie County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

2 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
George Peters House5.8 miles1987
Center Valley Grade School6.2 miles2011

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 02000285 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Outagamie CountyAll 51 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.