BlockBefore

Thern Farmstead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2024.

From the record

One of 51 National Register listings published here for Outagamie County · listed in 2024 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. 425 East Fairview Drive, New London, 54961
  • When was it listed? January 2024
  • Category. building
  • City. New London city
  • National Register reference number. 100009774 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

58 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 58 fires within 5 miles of Thern Farmstead between 1994 and 2020, burning about 64 acres in total. 1 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning26
Equipment and vehicle use12
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Railroad operations and maintenance4
Recreation and ceremony2
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Other causes1
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
16 September 2002Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
3 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesMERGER FIRE
2 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
15 July 2009Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesPOPPYS ROCK
15 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
11 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHIGHWAY 54 DITCHLINE
11 July 2018Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHIGHWAY 54 DITCHLINE TWO
15 June 2012Recreation and ceremony1.2 acresWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesPOPPY'S ROCK

Every fire recorded in Outagamie County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Thern Farmstead: 8 past producers, 3 occurrences, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Black Creek Limestone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Turney Hill Sandstone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
A Matz Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
B Duch Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Finger Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Givens Road Sand DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Mary Lemke Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Murphy Construction CompanySand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
New London PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
R Lathrop Sand DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence

Every working recorded in Outagamie County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hortonville Community Hall6.5 miles1981

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 100009774 in Record Group 79.
Outagamie CountyAll 51 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.