BlockBefore
Photograph of David M. and Lottie Fulmer House
Photograph by Csgaylord, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

David M. and Lottie Fulmer House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2014.

From the record

One of 5 National Register listings published here for Florence County · listed in 2014 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Fulmer, David M. and Lottie, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 209 Central Ave., Florence, 54121
  • When was it listed? May 2014
  • Category. building
  • Town. Florence town
  • Architectural style. Prairie School architecture
  • National Register reference number. 14000196 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

95 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 95 fires within 5 miles of David M. and Lottie Fulmer House between 1992 and 2020, burning about 94 acres in total. 3 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning38
Missing data/not specified/undetermined20
Equipment and vehicle use9
Fireworks7
Power generation/transmission/distribution5
Misuse of fire by a minor5
Recreation and ceremony5
Natural3
Other causes2
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
8 September 2009Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesBUTTONS AND BOWS
4 September 2009Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesLIFT STATION
2 August 2005Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
9 July 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
5 July 2003Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
3 July 2013Power generation/transmission/distributionunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesDITCH ON N
3 July 2009Fireworksunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesFIRE CRACKER
27 July 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Florence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 23 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 23 workings within 5 miles of David M. and Lottie Fulmer House: 10 past producers, 6 occurrences, 5 producers, 1 prospect. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Commonwealth GroupIronPast Producer1880, 1916
Commonwealth GroupIronPast Producer1880
Ernst MineIronPast Producer1849, 1914, 1929
Ernst MineIronPast Producer1912, 1914
Florence MineIronPast Producer1849, 1880, 1931
Florence MineIronPast Producer1880
Larson ExplorationIronProspect
Larson Exploration ProspectIronOccurrence1849, 1948
Blooms PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Commonwealth Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence

Every working recorded in Florence County

Storms near this property

13 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Florence, the town this property stands in, in 13 storm reports between 1995 and 2021: 7 thunderstorm wind, 5 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 1999Flash FloodFlorence$1,580,000no account filed
April 2004Thunderstorm WindFlorence$120,000no account filed
August 1996Thunderstorm WindFlorence$5,000no account filed
July 1995Thunderstorm WindFlorence$1,500no account filed
June 2021HailFlorence-Penny size hail fell in Florence.
June 2011HailFlorence-A thunderstorm produced penny size hail that covered the ground in Florence.
July 2010Thunderstorm WindFlorence-Thunderstorm winds downed trees on State Highway 70 and County Road N.
June 2007Thunderstorm WindFlorence-Trees down at State Highway 70.
August 2007Thunderstorm WindFlorence-Thunderstorm winds downed several trees near Florence.
April 2004HailFlorence-no account filed
September 2002HailFlorence-no account filed
December 2001HailFlorence-no account filed
July 1999Thunderstorm WindFlorence-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Florence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Robert B. and Estelle J. Webb Houseunder 500 feet2014
Florence County Courthouse and Jail0.2 miles1985
Florence Town Hall0.4 miles2014

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 14000196 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Florence CountyAll 5 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.