BlockBefore
Photograph of Kendall Cabinet Shop
Photograph by Jim Roberts, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Kendall Cabinet Shop

Built in 1860. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016.

From the record

“The Kendall Cabinet Shop, which later became the Waubeka Pearl Button Factory, is a former factory on the Milwaukee River in the Waubeka community in the Town of Fredonia, Wisconsin. Built in 1863 by cabinetmaker John Kendall, the shop was one of the first industrial enterprises in Waubeka.”

Wikipedia article Kendall Cabinet Shop, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 38 National Register listings published here for Ozaukee County · listed in 2016 · category: Building · built in 1860.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. W4128 Mill St., Fredonia, 53021
  • When was it listed? November 2016
  • Category. building
  • Town. Fredonia town
  • When was it built? 1860
  • National Register reference number. 14000887 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

17 since 2002

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 17 fires within 5 miles of Kendall Cabinet Shop between 2002 and 2020, burning about 20 acres in total. None started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined8
Debris and open burning6
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
17 July 2002Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
15 June 2019Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources19017
6 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources18017
26 May 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources20038
1 May 2018Debris and open burning5.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources110
8 April 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources18005
20 April 2020Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources20027
20 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources20032

Every fire recorded in Ozaukee County

Mines and quarries near this property

8 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 8 workings within 5 miles of Kendall Cabinet Shop: 6 producers, 2 past producers. 6 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Ciriak PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Clump PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hamm PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hartman PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Hartmann PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Lakeland SiteSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Lane PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Rau Pit Number 2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Ozaukee County

Storms near this property

9 since 1996

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Fredonia, the town this property stands in, in 9 storm reports between 1996 and 2023: 5 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 1996Tornado (F1)Fredonia$300,000no account filed
July 2007Flash FloodFredonia$100,000Heavy rains, measured at 4.5 to 5.0 inches within a couple hours, resulted in a flash flood in and near the village of Fredonia. Water depths on roads reached 1 to 3 feet. Some residents mentioned that some roads had never flooded until this event. Several gravel driveways were washed out as well as culverts.
July 2023Thunderstorm WindFredonia$6,000Damage to small sheds, a porch which was under construction, and trees all near Willow Valley Road.
September 2012Thunderstorm WindFredonia$3,000Law enforcement officials reported trees were blown down by damaging thunderstorm wind gusts estimated at 50 knots (58 mph) in Fredonia.
October 2019FloodFredonia$2,000The Milwaukee River at Waubeka reached minor flood stage, cresting at 9.61 feet during the late afternoon of October 2nd. Water approaches some homes in Waubeka in the area of Second Street and County Highway Z. There is significant flooding downstream in Waubedonia Park and Marie Kraus Park.
June 1999Thunderstorm WindFredonia$1,000no account filed
June 1997Thunderstorm WindFredonia$1,000no account filed
May 2006HailFredonia-no account filed
August 2002Thunderstorm WindFredonia-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Ozaukee County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

3 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Stony Hill School0.9 miles1976
Payne Hotel6.6 miles1991
Harry W. Bolens House7.7 miles1983

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 14000887 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Ozaukee CountyAll 38 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.