BlockBefore
Photograph of Harold J. and Agnes McFarlane Stone House and Barn
Photograph by Jeff the quiet, CC0 1.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Harold J. and Agnes McFarlane Stone House and Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2016.

From the record

One of 3 National Register listings published here for Rusk County · listed in 2016 · category: Building.

Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Listed as. McFarlane, Harold J. and Agnes, Stone House and Barn - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. N6435 Hackett Rd., Town of Hawkins, 54526
  • When was it listed? November 2016
  • Category. building
  • Town. Richland town
  • National Register reference number. 16000803 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

55 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 55 fires within 5 miles of Harold J. and Agnes McFarlane Stone House and Barn between 1992 and 2019, burning about 168 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning21
Arson/incendiarism11
Equipment and vehicle use7
Missing data/not specified/undetermined6
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Recreation and ceremony2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
28 September 2012Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesCOUNTY HIGHWAY B
22 September 2017Naturalunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesBURDOCK LIGHTNING
2 September 2003Debris and open burning9.3 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
11 September 2003Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
10 September 2005Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
11 August 2013Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
11 August 2013Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 July 2009Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesRED PINE HIDEOUT

Every fire recorded in Rusk County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 24 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 24 workings within 5 miles of Harold J. and Agnes McFarlane Stone House and Barn: 14 past producers, 10 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Cliff Edge Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Craters Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Creek Bend Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Creeking Creek Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Crestside Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Deer Tail Creek Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Double Branch Gravel PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hawkins Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Lake Laverne Sand Deposit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Lake Laverne Sand Deposit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence

Every working recorded in Rusk County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 16000803 in Record Group 79.
Rusk CountyAll 3 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.