From the record
One of 52 National Register listings published here for Jefferson County · listed in 1975 · category: Site.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.
One of 52 National Register listings published here for Jefferson County · listed in 1975 · category: Site.
Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service
The chapter on Aztalan Town in The History of Jefferson County, Wisconsin, Containing ... Biographical Sketches .., published 1879 names Aztalan. This is what it says, exactly as the scans read.
The first town election was held in the spring of 1842. at Aztalan, the township then comprising what are now the towns of Lake Mills and Waterloo, and the west half of Milford. M. R. Clapp, of Milford, was the first Chairman of the Town Supervisors.
Passage source: The History of Jefferson County, Wisconsin, Containing ... Biographical Sketches .., published 1879.
Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.
Read the whole chapter on Aztalan Town - 137 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 10 fires within 5 miles of Pioneer Aztalan Site between 2010 and 2020, burning about 261 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 2 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 25 July 2018 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | 257 |
| 10 June 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | 94 |
| 3 April 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | 20065 |
| 29 March 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | 1800030 |
| 25 March 2010 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | not named |
| 23 March 2017 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | HOPE LAKE ROAD FIRE |
| 28 November 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | 388 |
| 10 November 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | 255 acres | Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources | HOPE LAKE FIRE |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Pioneer Aztalan Site: 2 producers, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aztalan Township Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Mud Lake Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Nelson Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Aztalan, the town this property stands in, in 7 storm reports between 2008 and 2024: 4 flood, 2 tornado, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| June 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Aztalan | $4,000 | Scattered trees and tree limbs down in Aztalan State Park. |
| April 2013 | Flood | Aztalan | $3,000 | The Crawfish River near Milton experienced minor flooding, cresting at 8.71 feet, or 1.71 feet over the flood stage of 7 feet, at 815 PM CDT on April 20th. |
| June 2024 | Flood | Aztalan | $1,000 | There is widespread flooding of agricultural land and lowland. There is widespread flooding in Riverbend Campground, about 5 miles upstream of Milford. This flooding continued into July. |
| June 2024 | Flood | Aztalan | $1,000 | There is widespread flooding of agricultural land and lowland. There is widespread flooding in Riverbend Campground, about 5 miles upstream of Milford. |
| March 2019 | Flood | Aztalan | $1,000 | The Crawfish River at Milford reached moderate flood stage, cresting at 9.39 feet the evening of March 20th. There is widespread flooding of agricultural land and lowland. There is widespread flooding in Riverbend Campground, about 5 miles upstream of Milford. |
| October 2022 | Tornado (EF0) | Aztalan | - | Path was initially found using a combination of radar data and Sentinel satellite information. Ensuing ground survey found the entry and exit points of the damage to a yet to be combined corn field along with some minor tree damage at the beginning of the path. |
| June 2008 | Tornado (EF0) | Aztalan | - | This brief tornado lasted less than a minute, and resulted in only minor tree branch damage. The starting and ending locations, with respect to lat/long pairs of numbers, were 43.0901/-89.15824 and 43.09347/-89.15033, respectively. DI #28 (TS), DOD2. Maximum wind speed about 75 mph. Average path width was about 30 yards. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Aztalan | 0.3 miles | 1966 |
| Mulberry Street Residential Historic District | 2.4 miles | 2019 | |
![]() | Enoch J. Fargo House | 2.5 miles | 1982 |
![]() | L. D. Fargo Public Library | 2.6 miles | 1982 |
| Lake Mills Downtown Commercial Historic District | 2.6 miles | 2019 | |
| South Main Street Residential Historic District | 2.7 miles | 2020 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 75000069 in Record Group 79. |
| Jefferson County | All 52 listed properties in this county. |