BlockBefore
Photograph of Stevens Point State Normal School
Photograph by self, CC BY-SA 2.5. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Stevens Point State Normal School

Built in 1894. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.

From the record

One of 22 National Register listings published here for Portage County · listed in 1976 · category: Building · built in 1894.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 2100 Main St., Stevens Point, 54481
  • When was it listed? December 1976
  • Category. building
  • City. Stevens Point city
  • When was it built? 1894
  • National Register reference number. 76000074 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

181 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 181 fires within 5 miles of Stevens Point State Normal School between 1992 and 2020, burning about 135 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use48
Debris and open burning41
Railroad operations and maintenance32
Missing data/not specified/undetermined21
Power generation/transmission/distribution8
Arson/incendiarism7
Recreation and ceremony7
Misuse of fire by a minor6
Fireworks5
Other causes4
Natural1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2007Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 September 2006Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
6 September 2006Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
23 September 1998Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 August 2013Railroad operations and maintenanceunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesSTOCKTON RR #1
8 August 2001Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
30 August 2006Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
28 August 2012Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Portage County

Storms near this property

4 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Stevens Point, the town this property stands in, in 4 storm reports between 1995 and 1996: 3 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 1996Thunderstorm WindStevens Point$20,000no account filed
June 1996Thunderstorm WindStevens Point$5,000no account filed
July 1996HailStevens Point-no account filed
August 1995Thunderstorm WindStevens Point-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Portage County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Nelson Hall0.1 miles2005
Clark Street-Main Street Historic District0.3 miles2021
August G. and Theresa Green House0.4 miles2005
Christina Kuhl House0.5 miles1978
David McMillan House0.5 miles1974
Hardware Mutual Insurance Companies Building0.7 miles1994

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 76000074 in Record Group 79.
Portage CountyAll 22 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.