BlockBefore
Photograph of Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company
Photograph by Csgaylord, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company

Built in 1906. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

“The Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company in Prentice, Wisconsin was central to the community's transition from lumber to agriculture. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.”

Wikipedia article Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 12 National Register listings published here for Price County · listed in 1985 · category: Building · built in 1906.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 700 Main St., Prentice, 54556
  • When was it listed? September 1985
  • Category. building
  • Village. Prentice village
  • When was it built? 1906
  • National Register reference number. 85002329 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

65 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 65 fires within 5 miles of Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company between 1992 and 2020, burning about 137 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Equipment and vehicle use20
Debris and open burning11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined9
Arson/incendiarism5
Railroad operations and maintenance5
Smoking4
Power generation/transmission/distribution4
Recreation and ceremony4
Natural1
Other causes1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 2012Fireworksunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesHWY A
17 September 1992Naturalunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
1 September 2008Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
8 August 2002Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
18 August 2003Debris and open burningunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
24 July 1998Equipment and vehicle useunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
14 July 2006Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.1 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named
14 July 2006Recreation and ceremonyunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resourcesnot named

Every fire recorded in Price County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 18 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Prentice Co-operative Creamery Company: 11 occurrences, 6 past producers, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Prentice East ProspectZincProspect
Douglas Creek Gravel Deposit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Douglas Creek Gravel Deposit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Douglas Creek Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hay Creek Gravel Deposit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hay Creek Gravel Deposit #2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hay Creek Gravel Deposit #3Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hay Creek Gravel Deposit #4Sand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Hay Creek Gravel Pit # 2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Hay Creek Gravel Pit #1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in Price County

Storms near this property

39 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Prentice, the town this property stands in, in 39 storm reports between 1997 and 2019: 26 hail, 12 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2011Tornado (EF0)Prentice$1,000A weak tornado tracked for just over a mile around U.S. Highway 8 to the west of Prentice. The damage was primarily to trees, with a few 6-12 inch diameter pine trees snapped and blown in a convergent damage pattern. A metal barn also had some minor damage, mainly to eaves and siding. [DI 1 (SBO), DOD 1, EXP-UB, Est Gust 70 mph].
July 2019Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Small branches and leaves were stripped off trees.
April 2017HailPrentice-Hailstones up to the size of quarters covered the ground in less than 2 minutes.
June 2017Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Multiple trees were blown down. The largest trees were 8 to 10 inches in diameter.
June 2017Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Several trees were blown down along a half mile stretch of US Highway 8.
June 2016Thunderstorm WindPrentice-An 8 diameter pine tree fell on a power line. Power outages were reported in the Prentice area.
September 2014HailPrentice-There was also very heavy rain and strong winds.
May 2012Thunderstorm WindPrentice-The wind blew down two 10-inch diameter trees across Highway 8.
May 2010HailPrentice-Strong winds were also reported in addition to the hail.
April 2009Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Trees 5 to 6 inches in diameter were blown down.
April 2009Thunderstorm WindPrentice-A 32 inch diameter tree was blown down.
July 2006HailPrentice-The hail ranged in size from 1 to 1 3/4 inches. The hail covered the ground.
July 2002Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Trees were blown down.
August 2002Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Large tree limbs were blown down.
August 2000Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Trees were blown down. Wind speed is estimated.
July 1999Thunderstorm WindPrentice-Trees and power lines were blown down. A semi-trailer was overturned.
August 2018HailPrentice-no account filed
August 2018HailPrentice-no account filed
June 2017HailPrentice-no account filed
May 2012HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2009HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2009HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2009HailPrentice-no account filed
October 2007HailPrentice-no account filed
September 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
April 2002HailPrentice-no account filed
May 1998HailPrentice-no account filed
May 1998HailPrentice-no account filed
May 1998HailPrentice-no account filed
May 1998HailPrentice-no account filed
May 1998HailPrentice-no account filed
August 1997HailPrentice-no account filed
August 1997Thunderstorm WindPrentice-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Price County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

1 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Prentice Boy Scout Cabin0.1 miles2017

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85002329 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Price CountyAll 12 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.