BlockBefore

Rapide Croche Lock and Dam Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

One of 51 National Register listings published here for Outagamie County · listed in 1993 · category: District.

Sources: the case file at the National Archives · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 structuress, 2 buildingss as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Fox R. at the Outagamie--Brown County line, Wrightstown, 54130
  • When was it listed? December 1993
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. Waterway Resources of the Lower Fox River MPS
  • Town. Kaukauna town
  • National Register reference number. 93001326 - the number the National Park Service assigned this property when it was listed, and the key its nomination file is catalogued under at the National Archives.

Fires near this property

12 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 12 fires within 5 miles of Rapide Croche Lock and Dam Historic District between 2018 and 2020, burning about 5 acres in total. None started naturally. 2 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Arson/incendiarism2
Debris and open burning1
Equipment and vehicle use1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
14 August 2020Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources2020055
31 July 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources33
30 July 2019Arson/incendiarismunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources36
19 July 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources200931
1 July 2018Smokingunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources28
4 June 2020Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources200592
16 May 2018Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreWisconsin Department of Natural Resources21
6 April 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresWisconsin Department of Natural Resources2020020

Every fire recorded in Outagamie County

Mines and quarries near this property

2 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Rapide Croche Lock and Dam Historic District: 1 past producer, 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Bodde Road Gravel DepositSand and Gravel, ConstructionOccurrence
Kaukauna Limestone QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer

Every working recorded in Outagamie County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Charles A. Grignon House3.7 miles1972
Kaukauna Locks Historic District3.9 miles1993
Norman Brokaw House4.0 miles1984
Capt. Matthew J. Meade House4.1 miles1984
Eagle Paper and Flouring Mill4.3 miles2015
Holy Cross Church4.3 miles1984

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93001326 in Record Group 79.
Outagamie CountyAll 51 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.