Dayton, Wyoming
15 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1895 and the latest in 1979. It stands in the Sheridan West census division. It lies in ZIP code area 82836. It stands on Little Tongue River. The Survey maps it on the Dayton North quadrangle. 822 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 3,921 feet above sea level.
On record in Dayton
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 3 records
Dayton Community Halllisted 2005
Dayton Mercantilelisted 2016
Susan Wissler Houselisted 1984
Population over time
3 figuresDayton grew from 678 to 822 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 678 | |
| 2010 | 757 | +79 (+12%) |
| 2020 | 822 | +65 (+9%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 15 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1895 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:125000
- 1901 USGS Dayton quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1955 USGS Sheridan quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1958 USGS Sheridan quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1962 USGS Sheridan quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Dayton North quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1970 USGS Burgess Junction quadrangle1:100000
- 1979 USGS Burgess Junction quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
48 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 48 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1992 and 2020, burning about 3,296 acres in total. 6 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 24 |
| Debris and open burning | 10 |
| Natural | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 2 |
| Fireworks | 2 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 1995 | Natural | under an acre | Bighorn National Forest | SAND TURN |
| 5 September 1995 | Natural | under an acre | Bighorn National Forest | CRYSTAL SPRINGS |
| 25 September 1993 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Wyoming State Forestry | not named |
| 6 August 2015 | Natural | under an acre | Bighorn National Forest | CAVE |
| 5 August 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Wyoming State Forestry | not named |
| 31 August 2014 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Wyoming State Forestry | 166 WOLF CREEK RD. |
| 25 August 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Sheridan County | HWY345 |
| 23 August 1994 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Wyoming State Forestry | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
2 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Dayton: 2 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Gypsum-Anhydrite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
Storms near this place
17 since 1996Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 17 storm reports between 1996 and 2025: 12 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 lightning, 1 flood. The reports record 1 death. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| July 2010 | Lightning | Dayton | 1 killed | no account filed |
| July 2025 | Debris Flow | Dayton | - | At least 4 debris flows within the Elk Burn Scar occurred along US-14 that closed the road for 3-4 hours. Also caused a log jam along the Little Tongue Canyon on Little Tongue Ranch, which caused localized flooding and damage to a barn. 0.7 inches of rain fell from 7 to 7:30pm. |
| July 2025 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Downed power lines and tree damage near Dayton. |
| June 2018 | Hail | Dayton | - | Quarter size hail was reported between Parkman and Dayton. |
| May 2011 | Flood | Dayton | - | Heavy rainfall in the foothills of the Big Horn Mountains resulted in high flows and localized flooding on all rivers and streams across Sheridan County. County dispatch reported Soldier Creek was out of its banks and flooding homes in Downer Addition subdivision on the west side of Sheridan. |
| May 2023 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| May 2023 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| June 2022 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| July 2018 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| August 2009 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| June 2008 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| June 2004 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| June 2004 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| July 2001 | Hail | Dayton | - | no account filed |
| June 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ranchester | 5.7 miles | 15 | |
| Parkman | 6.8 miles | 15 | |
| Wolf | 7.3 miles | 15 | |
| Beckton | 11.2 miles | 17 | |
| Monarch | 12.2 miles | 15 | |
| Kleenburn | 13.4 miles | 15 | |
| Acme | 14.9 miles | 11 | |
| Burgess Junction | 15.5 miles | 17 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q1029734 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1587386. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.







