From the record
One of 65 National Register listings published here for Teton County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025.
One of 65 National Register listings published here for Teton County · listed in 2025 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 35 fires within 5 miles of John Clymer Residence between 1992 and 2016, burning about 15 acres in total. 18 started naturally. None was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Natural | 18 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 7 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 16 September 1999 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Bridger-Teton National Forest | TEEWINOT |
| 8 August 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Grand Teton National Park | LONE PINE |
| 4 August 1992 | Natural | under an acre | Bridger-Teton National Forest | FISH |
| 29 August 1994 | Natural | under an acre | Bridger-Teton National Forest | VILLAGE |
| 27 August 2008 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Grand Teton National Park | ENDLESS FIRE |
| 26 August 2011 | Natural | under an acre | Grand Teton National Park | PRESERVE |
| 22 August 1994 | Natural | under an acre | Grand Teton National Park | CABIN |
| 17 August 1996 | Equipment and vehicle use | 5.0 acres | Bridger-Teton National Forest | C 130 |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of John Clymer Residence: 1 occurrence. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Talc-Soapstone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Unknown | Talc-Soapstone | Occurrence |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Teton Village, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 2008 and 2020: 3 thunderstorm wind, 2 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Teton Village | - | Early morning, high based showers developed over the Tetons and moved into the Jackson Valley. A downdraft off of one of the shower caused 3 balloons to crash to the ground south of Teton Village. People were thrown from the baskets with the hard landings. In total 11 people went to the hospital, with 4 who were admitted and 1 that had to be evacuated by helicopter to a hospital in Idaho Falls. |
| July 2017 | Hail | Teton Village | - | A trained spotter reported nickel size hail north of Teton Village. |
| July 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Teton Village | - | A wind gust to 72 mph was recorded at the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. |
| June 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Teton Village | - | A wind gust of 58 mph was measured at the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. |
| July 2008 | Hail | Teton Village | - | Hail of one inch in diameter fell near Teton Village. |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Alpenhof Lodge | 0.3 miles | 2016 |
| Snake River Ranch | 2.3 miles | 2004 | |
![]() | Upper Granite Canyon Patrol Cabin | 3.8 miles | 1998 |
![]() | Death Canyon Barn | 5.4 miles | 1998 |
| Moran Bay Patrol Cabin | 5.4 miles | 1998 | |
![]() | White Grass Ranger Station Historic District | 5.5 miles | 1990 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100011059 in Record Group 79. |
| Teton County | All 65 listed properties in this county. |