Baileytown, Alabama
22 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1888 and the latest in 1984. It stands in the Princeton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35768. It sits by Sand Bluff. The Survey maps it on the Princeton quadrangle. It stands 1,706 feet above sea level.
Topographic sheets covering this place
10 surveys from 22 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1888 USGS Scottsboro quadrangle1:125000
- 1892 USGS Scottsboro quadrangle1:125000, 5 printings
- 1936 USGS Princeton quadrangle1:24000
- 1948 USGS Princeton quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1951 USGS Princeton quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1956 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1963 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1984 USGS Huntsville quadrangle1:100000, 3 printings
Fires near this place
23 since 1997Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 23 fires within 5 miles of Baileytown between 1997 and 2016, burning about 860 acres in total. None started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 11 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6 |
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 1998 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 August 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.5 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | CO RD 107, AL |
| 29 May 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 16 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | CR 65, AL |
| 14 May 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 May 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 30 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 April 2006 | Debris and open burning | 5.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 April 2003 | Debris and open burning | 40 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 4381 CO. RD. 44, AL |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Swaim | 1.7 miles | 22 | |
| Beachboro (historical) | 2.1 miles | 22 | |
| Larkins Fork (historical) | 2.1 miles | 22 | |
| Estillfork | 3.5 miles | 21 | |
| Milan (historical) | 3.5 miles | 21 | |
| Princeton | 4.0 miles | 22 | |
| Skyline | 4.2 miles | 24 | |
| Larkin | 4.3 miles | 21 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Baileytown | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q19865417 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 156015. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.









