Churntown, Alabama
14 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1936 and the latest in 1980. It stands in the Russellville census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35581. It stands on Wilson Branch. The Survey maps it on the Spruce Pine quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
8 surveys from 14 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1936 USGS Spruce Pine quadrangle1:24000
- 1945 USGS Spruce Pine quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1947 USGS Spruce Pine quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1956 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1958 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000, 2 printings
- 1963 USGS Gadsden quadrangle1:250000
- 1980 USGS Haleyville quadrangle1:100000
Fires near this place
54 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 54 fires within 5 miles of Churntown between 1994 and 2019, burning about 1,005 acres in total. None started naturally. 16 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 17 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 16 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 26 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 September 2019 | Arson/incendiarism | 10 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190924-7 |
| 2 September 2007 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 1999 | Equipment and vehicle use | 460 acres | National Forests in Alabama | CHERRY HILL |
| 15 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
7 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 7 workings within 5 miles of Churntown: 7 producers. All of them still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Trapptown Number 1 | Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | Unconsolidated Sediments | |
| Russellville Quarry | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | Quartz | |
| Russellville Sand Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Spruce Pine Mine | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | ||
| Spruce Pine Pits | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | Quartz | |
| Tennessee Valley Sand and Gravel Company | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer | Unconsolidated Sediments | |
| Trapptown No. 1 | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Producer |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Trapptown | 3.3 miles | 12 | |
| Spruce Pine | 3.3 miles | 14 | |
| Smith (historical) | 3.6 miles | 14 | |
| Phil Campbell | 4.2 miles | 14 | |
| Oak Grove | 4.6 miles | 14 | |
| Carroll Crossroads | 5.0 miles | 12 | |
| Union | 5.1 miles | 14 | |
| Waco | 5.5 miles | 14 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 136141. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.







