Dayton, Alabama
10 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Faunsdale census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36738. The Survey maps it on the Thomaston West quadrangle. 28 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 240 feet above sea level.
On record in Dayton
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register 2 records
Half-Chance Bridgelisted 1972
William Poole Houselisted 1994
Surveyed buildings and structures 3 records
- Magnolia Grove, State Highway 25, Daytonfederal building survey, 16 photographs
- Methodist Church, State Highway 25, Daytonfederal building survey, 15 photographs
- Walton-Bruce House, State Highway 25, Daytonfederal building survey, 6 photographs
Population over time
3 figuresDayton fell from 60 to 28 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2000 | 60 | |
| 2010 | 52 | -8 (-13%) |
| 2020 | 28 | -24 (-46%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
5 surveys from 10 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000
- 1968 USGS Thomaston West quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Selma quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Photographs
3 photographs,Taken for the Office of War Information and the Farm Security Administration, who photographed the country between 1935 and 1944. Works of United States government photographers, with no known restriction on use. Each opens its catalogue record.
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress
Fires near this place
30 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 30 fires within 5 miles of Dayton between 1994 and 2020, burning about 500 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 13 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 11 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 60 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 11 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 August 2000 | Debris and open burning | 16 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 18 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 7.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 July 1996 | Recreation and ceremony | 1.5 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 July 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 June 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 May 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20180507-10 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
4 since 2005Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Dayton in 4 storm reports between 2005 and 2024: 2 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| April 2005 | Hail | Dayton | $1,000 | Quarter size hail was reported in and near the Dayton community. |
| August 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Several trees were blown down around Dayton. |
| August 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Dayton | - | Several trees uprooted along County Road 39 near the town of Dayton. |
| July 2013 | Flash Flood | Dayton | - | Several roads were impassable due to flash flooding in northern Marengo County, including County Road 39, between Highway 25 and County Road 33. A bridge was washed out on County Road 44, between Highway 25 and County Road 53. Additionally, a portion of 6th Avenue between Highway 25 and Chestnut Street was washed out. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| McCorkle (historical) | 3.7 miles | 9 | |
| Crenshaw (historical) | 3.8 miles | 9 | |
| Tombigbee (historical) | 4.2 miles | 11 | |
| Siddonsville | 4.9 miles | 11 | |
| Lyon (historical) | 5.3 miles | 9 | |
| Half Chance | 5.8 miles | 10 | |
| Thomaston | 5.9 miles | 10 | |
| Old White Hall (historical) | 6.3 miles | 9 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Dayton | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q67012 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 117151. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.




