Siddonsville, Alabama
11 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Faunsdale census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36738. The Survey maps it on the Uniontown West quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
5 surveys from 11 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Montgomery quadrangle1:250000
- 1968 USGS Uniontown West quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1986 USGS Selma quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
22 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of Siddonsville between 1994 and 2020, burning about 199 acres in total. None started naturally. 1 was recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 10 |
| Debris and open burning | 5 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 1995 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 1.5 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 2010 | Equipment and vehicle use | 32 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | SWR-20120706-003 |
| 5 July 1996 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 4.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 July 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 4.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 July 2006 | Debris and open burning | 8.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 May 2018 | Debris and open burning | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20180507-10 |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
1 since 2019Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Siddonsville in 1 storm report in 2019: 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2019 | Tornado (EF0) | Siddonsville | - | National Weather Service meteorologists surveyed damage in Marengo County and determined that it was consistent with an EF0 tornado, with maximum sustained winds near 75 mph.||The tornado touched down just west of the intersection of Highway 25 and County Road 59, northeast of the town of Dayton. Several trees were snapped off and a couple homes suffered minor damage. One home sustained significant roof damage. The tornado tracked northeast and caused sporadic tree damage along County Road 12 and Barry Brackin Road. The tornado lifted just north of County Road 53, just before the Perry County line. A home suffered minor damage and there was some minor tree damage near the end point. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tombigbee (historical) | 2.9 miles | 11 | |
| Faunsdale | 3.1 miles | 11 | |
| McCorkle (historical) | 4.2 miles | 9 | |
| Dayton | 4.9 miles | 10 | |
| Lyon (historical) | 5.2 miles | 9 | |
| Crenshaw (historical) | 8.2 miles | 9 | |
| Old Spring Hill | 8.6 miles | 10 | |
| McKinley | 9.1 miles | 9 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 126832. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.




