Indian Springs Village, Alabama
27 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1890 and the latest in 1997. It stands in the Alabaster-Helena census division. It lies in ZIP code area 35124. It lies near Little Valley. The Survey maps it on the Helena quadrangle. 2,481 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 509 feet above sea level.
Population over time
2 figuresIndian Springs Village grew from 2,363 to 2,481 between 2010 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.
| Year | People | Change |
|---|---|---|
| 2010 | 2,363 | |
| 2020 | 2,481 | +118 (+5%) |
Topographic sheets covering this place
13 surveys from 27 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1890 USGS Bessemer quadrangle1:125000
- 1892 USGS Bessemer quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1905 USGS Bessemer Iron District quadrangle1:62500, 2 printings
- 1905 USGS Bessemer Special quadrangle1:48000
- 1907 USGS Bessemer Iron District quadrangle1:62500, 3 printings
- 1907 USGS Bessemer Special quadrangle1:62500
- 1953 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000, 4 printings
- 1956 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000
- 1957 USGS Birmingham quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Helena quadrangle1:24000, 7 printings
- 1975 USGS Helena quadrangle1:24000
- 1984 USGS Birmingham South quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
- 1997 USGS Helena quadrangle1:24000
Fires near this place
53 since 1995Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 53 fires within 5 miles of Indian Springs Village between 1995 and 2020, burning about 742 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 15 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 13 |
| Debris and open burning | 12 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 September 2002 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 1995 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 2015 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | NER-20150927-001 |
| 18 September 1999 | Arson/incendiarism | 4.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 1998 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 September 1995 | Debris and open burning | 2.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 August 1999 | Railroad operations and maintenance | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
6 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Indian Springs Village: 3 unknowns, 2 past producers, 1 prospect. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Iron, Perlite, Vermiculite. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Irondale Plant | Vermiculite | Past Producer | ||
| W. R. Grace Irondale Plant | Perlite | Past Producer | ||
| Johnson Prospect | Iron | Prospect | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown | ||
| Unnamed | Iron | Unknown |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Indian Springs Ranch | 0.8 miles | 27 | |
| New Hope | 1.0 miles | 23 | |
| Valdawood | 1.0 miles | 27 | |
| Southlake | 1.1 miles | 27 | |
| Valley Station | 1.4 miles | 27 | |
| Indian Valley | 1.6 miles | 26 | |
| Quail Run | 1.8 miles | 27 | |
| Indian Hills | 2.6 miles | 27 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Indian Springs Village | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q65689 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 1669447. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.












