Kirkland, Alabama
9 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Brewton census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36426. The Survey maps it on the Brewton North quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
4 surveys from 9 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000
- 1960 USGS Brewton North quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1986 USGS Atmore quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
159 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 159 fires within 5 miles of Kirkland between 1994 and 2020, burning about 1,308 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 27 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 77 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 29 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 27 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 12 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 7 |
| Natural | 3 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 7 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 2002 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 6 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.3 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 27 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 12 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Storms near this place
6 since 2016Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Kirkland in 6 storm reports between 2016 and 2024: 5 thunderstorm wind, 1 hail. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2016 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | $10,000 | Winds estimated at 70 mph damaged a mobile home and outbuilding on Zion Hill Road. |
| April 2024 | Hail | Kirkland | - | Quarter to golf ball sized hail reported by public to media. |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | - | High winds downed trees and powerlines blocking Kirkland Road. |
| March 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | - | High winds downed trees on Kirkland Road just east of Highway 31. |
| April 2022 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | - | High winds downed trees on Baggett Street. |
| June 2020 | Thunderstorm Wind | Kirkland | - | High winds downed trees and power lines on Highway 31. |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rock Hill | 5.2 miles | 7 | |
| Appleton | 5.3 miles | 9 | |
| Spring Hill | 5.6 miles | 9 | |
| Pea Ridge | 6.1 miles | 9 | |
| Brewton | 6.2 miles | 9 | |
| East Brewton | 6.8 miles | 9 | |
| Boykin | 8.8 miles | 7 | |
| Riverview | 9.0 miles | 9 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 156566. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.



