Spring Hill, Alabama
9 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the East Escambia census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36426. It stands on King Branch. The Survey maps it on the Brewton South quadrangle. It stands 197 feet above sea level.
Topographic sheets covering this place
5 surveys from 9 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1953 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000, 3 printings
- 1957 USGS Andalusia quadrangle1:250000
- 1959 USGS Brewton South quadrangle1:24000
- 1960 USGS Brewton South quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1986 USGS Atmore quadrangle1:100000, 2 printings
Fires near this place
176 since 1994Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 176 fires within 5 miles of Spring Hill between 1994 and 2019, burning about 993 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 28 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Debris and open burning | 87 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 32 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 28 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 10 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 8 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 4 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 2 |
| Smoking | 2 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 6 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 5 September 1997 | Arson/incendiarism | 2.3 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2009 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | 13 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | FINLAY LANE, AL |
| 29 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190929-17 |
| 28 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.5 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | 20190923-14 |
| 23 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 3.2 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
| 20 September 2010 | Debris and open burning | 4.5 acres | Alabama Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
2 within 5 milesRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 2 workings within 5 miles of Spring Hill: 1 producer, 1 past producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica, Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| East Brewton Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer | ||
| Unnamed Quarry | Sand and Gravel, Construction, Silica | Producer | Quartz |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| East Brewton | 1.8 miles | 9 | |
| Brewton | 2.0 miles | 9 | |
| Rock Hill | 2.0 miles | 7 | |
| Pea Ridge | 3.4 miles | 9 | |
| Riverview | 3.5 miles | 9 | |
| Kirkland | 5.6 miles | 9 | |
| Keego | 5.9 miles | 9 | |
| Dixonville | 7.4 miles | 9 |
Elsewhere
Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.
| Wikipedia article on Spring Hill | An encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied. |
| Wikidata item Q7580560 | The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0). |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 127235. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.




