BlockBefore

Martin, Alabama

10 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1953 and the latest in 1986. It stands in the Safford census division. It lies in ZIP code area 36773. It stands on Tatum Creek. The Survey maps it on the Safford quadrangle.

Martin within Dallas County

On record in Martin

Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.

On the National Register within a mile 1 record

The National Register names another town for these. They stand within one mile of this settlement's coordinate.

Surveyed buildings and structures 1 record

Topographic sheets covering this place

5 surveys from 10 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Photographs

1 photograph,

Taken for the Office of War Information and the Farm Security Administration, who photographed the country between 1935 and 1944. Works of United States government photographers, with no known restriction on use. Each opens its catalogue record.

Louisville & Nashville Railroad Depot, 4 Martin Luther King Street, Selma, Dallas County, AL
Louisville & Nashville Railroad Depot, 4 Martin Luther King Street, Selma, Dallas County, AL
Photographer not recorded. Library of Congress

Fires near this place

71 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 71 fires within 5 miles of Martin between 1994 and 2019, burning about 745 acres in total. None started naturally. 12 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning32
Arson/incendiarism12
Missing data/not specified/undetermined7
Equipment and vehicle use6
Recreation and ceremony4
Smoking4
Power generation/transmission/distribution2
Railroad operations and maintenance2
Other causes1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2004Arson/incendiarism17 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2000Debris and open burningunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2000Debris and open burning1.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreAlabama Forestry Commission20190928-2
28 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20190928-1
26 September 2000Debris and open burning5.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
25 September 2010Debris and open burning1.5 acresAlabama Forestry Commissionnot named
24 September 2016Debris and open burning5.3 acresAlabama Forestry Commission20160924-11

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Storms near this place

2 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Martin in 2 storm reports between 2009 and 2011: 1 thunderstorm wind, 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2011Flash FloodMartin$75,000The intersection of CR 115 and CR 21 was closed due to flooding.
February 2009Thunderstorm WindMartin$1,000Several trees were blown down on AL-22, west of Orville.

Every storm recorded in Dallas County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Brookwood0.8 miles10
Westbrook1.6 miles10
Eleanor2.0 miles10
Orrville3.2 miles13
Salem3.5 miles10
Bogue Chitto3.6 miles10
Safford3.9 miles10
Blalock4.1 miles11

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 152235. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.