Keystone, Arkansas
16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Marion County Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72687. It lies near Silver Hollow. The Survey maps it on the Cozahome quadrangle. The federal gazetteer marks this settlement historical: it is no longer a populated place, though the surveys that recorded it still are.
On record in Keystone
Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.
On the National Register within a mile 1 record
The National Register names another town for these. They stand within one mile of this settlement's coordinate.
Rush Historic Districtlisted 1987 · 0.9 miles away
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 16 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1966 USGS Cozahome quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
123 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 123 fires within 5 miles of Keystone (historical) between 1992 and 2019, burning about 7,654 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 56 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 56 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 33 |
| Debris and open burning | 19 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 80 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 September 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 40 acres | Buffalo National River | LEON |
| 3 September 1995 | Arson/incendiarism | 20 acres | Buffalo National River | GENE |
| 17 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 August 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 5.0 acres | Buffalo National River | SCHNAUZER LANE |
| 3 August 2011 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 23 August 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Buffalo National River | CLABBER GRAVEL BAR |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 47 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 47 workings within 5 miles of Keystone (historical): 23 past producers, 13 unknowns, 11 occurrences. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Copper. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corbin Lead Deposit | Lead, Barium-Barite | Occurrence | ||
| Omeara Prospect | Tungsten, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Tomahawk | Copper | Past Producer | ||
| Boat Creek | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Dry Bone | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Foxden | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Lion Hill Mine | Lead, Zinc | Past Producer | ||
| Unknown | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Unknown | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Unknown | Lead, Zinc | Unknown |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rush | 2.1 miles | 17 | |
| Sylvia (historical) | 3.7 miles | 16 | |
| Hepsey (historical) | 4.6 miles | 18 | |
| Mull | 4.8 miles | 16 | |
| Caney | 5.2 miles | 17 | |
| Old Buffalo | 5.2 miles | 18 | |
| Hand Valley | 6.1 miles | 18 | |
| Rea Valley | 6.8 miles | 17 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 61027. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.











