Caney, Arkansas
17 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Marion County Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72687. It lies near Coldwater Hollow. The Survey maps it on the Maumee quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 17 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1966 USGS Maumee quadrangle1:24000, 3 printings
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
123 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 123 fires within 5 miles of Caney between 1992 and 2019, burning about 4,260 acres in total. 6 started naturally. 53 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 53 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 36 |
| Debris and open burning | 17 |
| Natural | 6 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 4 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 23 August 2013 | Recreation and ceremony | under an acre | Buffalo National River | CLABBER GRAVEL BAR |
| 14 August 1999 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Buffalo National River | PL FIRE |
| 13 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 8 July 2005 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Buffalo National River | BAYHALER |
| 7 July 2012 | Arson/incendiarism | under an acre | Buffalo National River | 5034 - NPS BOUNDARY |
| 23 July 2012 | Natural | under an acre | Buffalo National River | MULL 2 |
| 23 July 2006 | Natural | 7.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 21 July 2012 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | Buffalo National River | RUSH ROAD |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 38 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 38 workings within 5 miles of Caney: 19 past producers, 9 occurrences, 7 unknowns, 2 prospects. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Stone, Lead, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Corbin Lead Deposit | Lead, Barium-Barite | Occurrence | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Unknown | ||
| St Joe Quarry | Stone | Producer | ||
| Unknown | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Unknown | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Anglo-American Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Big Bell Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Christie Prospect | Lead | Occurrence | ||
| Cobert Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Sylvia (historical) | 1.5 miles | 16 | |
| Mull | 2.3 miles | 16 | |
| Rush | 3.7 miles | 17 | |
| Freck | 3.7 miles | 17 | |
| Cowan | 4.9 miles | 16 | |
| Keystone (historical) | 5.2 miles | 16 | |
| Ralph | 5.2 miles | 16 | |
| Big Springs (historical) | 7.9 miles | 16 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 57502. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.











