Ralph, Arkansas
16 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1893 and the latest in 1985. It stands in Marion County Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72687. The Survey maps it on the Yellville quadrangle.
Topographic sheets covering this place
12 surveys from 16 printed sheetsMatched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.
- 1893 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 2 printings
- 1903 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1905 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000, 3 printings
- 1929 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:125000
- 1945 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1949 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1954 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1958 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1964 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
- 1966 USGS Yellville quadrangle1:24000, 2 printings
- 1985 USGS Bull Shoals Lake quadrangle1:100000
- 1985 USGS Harrison quadrangle1:250000
Fires near this place
119 since 1992Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 119 fires within 5 miles of Ralph between 1992 and 2019, burning about 2,487 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 45 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 45 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 45 |
| Debris and open burning | 24 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 3 |
| Smoking | 1 |
| Natural | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 2 September 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 24 August 2007 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 13 August 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 August 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 34 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 July 2012 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 29 July 2012 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 21 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:
Mines and quarries near this place
10 of 18 shownRegional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 18 workings within 5 miles of Ralph: 9 unknowns, 3 occurrences, 3 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Zinc, Lead, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jefferson Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Unknown | Zinc, Lead | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Anglo-American Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Climax Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Cobert Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Dyson Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Phillips Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Willett Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Hazeldell | Zinc | Prospect |
Storms near this place
6 since 2015Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Ralph in 6 storm reports between 2015 and 2024: 2 hail, 2 tornado, 1 flash flood, 1 thunderstorm wind. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| February 2019 | Tornado (EF1) | Ralph | 1 hurt, $100,000 | This tornado developed on the west side of State Hwy 14 before crossing that highway and continuing further northeast. Trees were uprooted or snapped and utility poles where knocked down along its path, along with damage to a home along County Road 6089. This tornado continued towards Crestwood Terrace Road where it damaged some mobile homes before dissipating shortly afterwards. |
| May 2024 | Tornado (EF1) | Ralph | - | The Briarcliff Tornado began just west of AR Hwy 14 on Marion County Road|5002 and Abbey Lane, snapping and uprooting trees. The tornado|continued across AR Hwy 14 to Marion County Road 6014 and|6011 where it caused minor roof damage to some homes and|continued to snap and uproot trees. On Backway Road, a double-|wide shifted off its foundation a few feet and had a large tree|fall on it. Across the street, an outbuilding sustained damage to|the roof and flooring. The tornado continued towards Hand|Mountain where the path width increased significantly to in|excess of 1000 yards, snapping and uprooting numerous trees, and|then crossed the White River into Baxter County, followed by Fulton County. |
| December 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Ralph | - | A tree was downed in the Ralph-Caney area. |
| December 2015 | Flash Flood | Ralph | - | Several roads were closed to do flooding. |
| March 2017 | Hail | Ralph | - | no account filed |
| March 2017 | Hail | Ralph | - | no account filed |
Nearest settlements
The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.
| Map | Place | Distance | Sheets |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cowan | 1.5 miles | 16 | |
| Big Springs (historical) | 3.6 miles | 16 | |
| Yellville | 3.8 miles | 16 | |
| Freck | 4.7 miles | 17 | |
| Caney | 5.2 miles | 17 | |
| Summit | 5.6 miles | 17 | |
| Bruno | 5.8 miles | 16 | |
| Sylvia (historical) | 5.8 miles | 16 |
Provenance
This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 53884. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.











