BlockBefore

Ravenden Springs, Arkansas

8 topographic sheets cover this place, the earliest surveyed in 1957 and the latest in 1983. It stands in Janes Creek Township. It lies in ZIP code area 72460. It stands on Hall Creek. The Survey maps it on the Ravenden Springs quadrangle. 119 people lived here at the 2020 count. It stands 453 feet above sea level.

Ravenden Springs within Randolph County

On record in Ravenden Springs

Buildings and businesses the archive holds for this place. Each opens its own page, with the source record it came from.

On the National Register 2 records

Population over time

3 figures

Ravenden Springs fell from 137 to 119 between 2000 and 2020. These are the recorded population figures Wikidata holds for this place, reached through the Geographic Names Information System number this page is keyed on rather than by name, so they belong to this place and not to another of the same name. Most are census counts, but not all are: an early figure may be a founding or settlement estimate, and an estimate published within five years of a census is left out. The change column is computed, and is left blank where more than 20 years separate a figure from the one before it, because a gap that long is not a change between two counts.

YearPeople Change
2000137
2010118-19 (-14%)
2020119+1 (+1%)

Topographic sheets covering this place

5 surveys from 8 printed sheets

Matched by testing this settlement's coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet in the United States Geological Survey's historical collection. Each opens the scanned sheet at the Survey.

Fires near this place

119 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 119 fires within 5 miles of Ravenden Springs between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,792 acres in total. None started naturally. 21 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning64
Missing data/not specified/undetermined27
Arson/incendiarism21
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking3
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
3 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined12 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 1997Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2004Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2000Arson/incendiarism6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 August 1999Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 August 2012Misuse of fire by a minor3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 July 1999Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Settlements close enough to share some of these fires:

Every fire recorded in Randolph County

Mines and quarries near this place

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Ravenden Springs: 3 unknowns, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Randolph County

Nearest settlements

The eight closest, with where each one stands in the county. Distances are straight-line, computed from the Geographic Names Information System coordinates.

Map PlaceDistance Sheets
Kingsville (historical)2.2 miles8
Yadkin (historical)4.2 miles8
Watervalley (historical)4.9 miles8
Elevenpoint5.3 miles8
Oconee (historical)6.4 miles8
Stoney Point7.7 miles8
Dunn8.1 miles12
Dalton8.4 miles8

Elsewhere

Matched on this settlement's Geographic Names Information System number rather than its name, so it cannot be a different place of the same name in another state.

Wikipedia article on Ravenden SpringsAn encyclopaedic summary. Its text is share-alike, so it is linked here rather than copied.
Wikidata item Q525868The structured record the population and elevation above come from. Public domain (CC0).

Provenance

This settlement is recorded in the Geographic Names Information System as feature 78137. The sheet list is computed by point-in-boundary test against the United States Geological Survey's historical topographic inventory. Both are works of the United States government and carry no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.

Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.

Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.