BlockBefore
Photograph of Lee Service Station
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Lee Service Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

“The Lee Service Station is a historic commercial building at 28 South Broadway in Damascus, Arkansas. It is a single-story frame structure with a cross-gable roof configuration, its exterior finished in stone veneer with brick trim.”

Wikipedia article Lee Service Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 64 National Register listings published here for Faulkner County · listed in 2005 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 28 South Broadway, Damascus, 72039
  • When was it listed? February 2005
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Mixed Masonry Buildings of Silas Owens, Sr. MPS
  • Township. Walker township
  • National Register reference number. 05000044 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

75 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 75 fires within 5 miles of Lee Service Station between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,172 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 21 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning26
Arson/incendiarism21
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Equipment and vehicle use6
Natural4

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1999Debris and open burning40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined19 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2010Arson/incendiarism75 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionDOCS LANE
4 September 2000Natural3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2000Debris and open burning15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Debris and open burning20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1997Equipment and vehicle use55 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Faulkner County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Lee Service Station: 3 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Stell Pit & PlantStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer

Every working recorded in Faulkner County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House0.6 miles2006
Hall, Charlie, House1.9 miles2005
Silas Owens Sr. House3.4 miles2005
Solomon Grove Smith-Hughes Building3.4 miles1994
Richard and Mettie Ealy House4.2 miles2005
Quattlebaum-Pelletier House4.4 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05000044 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Faulkner CountyAll 64 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.