BlockBefore
Photograph of Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2006.

From the record

“The Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House is a historic house at 133 South Broadway in Damascus, Arkansas. It is a single story masonry structure, built out of sandstone with cream-colored brick trim.”

Wikipedia article Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 64 National Register listings published here for Faulkner County · listed in 2006 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Crownover--Brown, Earl and Oza, House - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. 133 S. Broadway, Damascus, 72039
  • When was it listed? March 2006
  • Category. building
  • Township. Walker township
  • National Register reference number. 06000088 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

81 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 81 fires within 5 miles of Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,202 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 25 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning27
Arson/incendiarism25
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Equipment and vehicle use7
Natural3
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 1999Debris and open burning40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined19 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2010Arson/incendiarism75 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionDOCS LANE
4 September 2000Natural3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2000Debris and open burning15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2010Debris and open burning20 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1997Equipment and vehicle use55 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Faulkner County

Mines and quarries near this property

4 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 4 workings within 5 miles of Earl and Oza Crownover-Brown House: 2 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Crushed/Broken, Clay, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
Reynolds Quarry and MillStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Stell Pit & PlantStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer

Every working recorded in Faulkner County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Lee Service Station0.6 miles2005
Hall, Charlie, House1.4 miles2005
Silas Owens Sr. House2.7 miles2005
Solomon Grove Smith-Hughes Building2.8 miles1994
Richard and Mettie Ealy House3.6 miles2005
Quattlebaum-Pelletier House3.8 miles2005

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 06000088 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Faulkner CountyAll 64 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.