BlockBefore
Photograph of Cotter Tunnel
Photograph by OzarksHistory, CC BY-SA 4.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Cotter Tunnel

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.

From the record

“The Cotter Tunnel is a railroad tunnel located just outside Cotter, Arkansas. It carries the Missouri and Northern Arkansas Railroad under a ridge that U.S.”

Wikipedia article Cotter Tunnel, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 28 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2007 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Under US 62 E of Cty Rd. 724, Cotter, 72634
  • When was it listed? September 2007
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Marion County township
  • National Register reference number. 07000961 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

39 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 39 fires within 5 miles of Cotter Tunnel between 1997 and 2020, burning about 379 acres in total. None started naturally. 13 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism13
Missing data/not specified/undetermined10
Debris and open burning10
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony1
Misuse of fire by a minor1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
30 September 1999Equipment and vehicle use3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
1 September 2005Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2005Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 August 2011Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 July 2001Misuse of fire by a minor5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 July 2017Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
9 April 2007Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Marion County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 11 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 11 workings within 5 miles of Cotter Tunnel: 6 unknowns, 2 producers, 2 occurrences, 1 past producer. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Stone, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Lead. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Corbin Iron DepositIronOccurrence
Flippin QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenUnknown
Flippin QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
Great Eastern ProspectLead, ZincOccurrence
Highup MineLead, ZincUnknown
Kenneth Mcdowell PitSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Marion County Pit & PlantSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
Unknown QuarryStoneUnknown
Unknown QuarryStoneUnknown
Unknown QuarryStoneUnknown

Every working recorded in Marion County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Flippin City Jail2.9 miles2023
Fairview School Building5.2 miles1992
Mountain Village 18907.5 miles2023
William Jasper Johnson House7.8 miles2018

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 07000961 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Marion CountyAll 28 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.