From the record
One of 28 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023.
One of 28 National Register listings published here for Marion County · listed in 2023 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 27 fires within 5 miles of Mountain Village 1890 between 1997 and 2019, burning about 502 acres in total. None started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 9 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 September 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 9 August 1999 | Smoking | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 July 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 June 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 25 June 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 May 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 3 April 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 35 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 29 workings within 5 miles of Mountain Village 1890: 16 occurrences, 7 unknowns, 4 prospects, 2 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shiras Mine | Iron, Zinc, Lead | Prospect | ||
| Cincinnati Bill Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Durham Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Erie Ozark Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Frost | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Hoffman Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Lost Bell | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Mitchell Mine | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | Galena, Smithsonite, Sphalerite | |
| Bardeen Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Occurrence | ||
| Big John Prospect | Lead, Zinc | Prospect |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Bull Shoals, the town this property stands in, in 27 storm reports between 1994 and 2026: 13 hail, 11 thunderstorm wind, 1 tornado, 1 lightning. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| August 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | $3,000,000 | One boat dock was overturned onto another dock, and several additional boat docks were damaged. Dozens of boats were damaged or destroyed; some of the boats sank. Trees and power lines were blown down. |
| June 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | $50,000 | Trees and power lines were blown down in the Bull Shoals area, blocking Arkansas 178 and numerous county roads. |
| October 2007 | Lightning | Bull Shoals | $2,000 | Lightning knocked down a large tree. The tree caused minor damage to the garage of a house. |
| March 2026 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | Quarter-sized hail fell near the town of Bull Shoals with a significant amount of hail falling leading to a few hail drifts. |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | Numerous trees were blown down near the Bull Shoals Dam covering portions of Marion and Baxter Counties. |
| November 2024 | Heavy Rain | Bull Shoals | - | A rainfall total of 7.24 inches was measured at Bull Shoals over a 24 hour period ending on November 4, 2024 at 6:04 AM CST. |
| June 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | Several boat docks were turned over on Bull Shoals Lake. |
| October 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | Trees were blown down. |
| April 2006 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | Some windows were broken out. |
| August 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | Trees and power lines knocked down. |
| November 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | Several boats were blown away from a dock and some were damaged by thunderstorm winds. |
| May 2017 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 2017 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 2017 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| July 2011 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| April 2004 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 2003 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 2002 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| July 2000 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| June 1997 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| June 1996 | Thunderstorm Wind | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| September 1996 | Tornado (F1) | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| April 1995 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| May 1995 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| July 1994 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
| November 1994 | Hail | Bull Shoals | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| William Jasper Johnson House | 0.5 miles | 2018 | |
![]() | Fairview School Building | 3.4 miles | 1992 |
| Flippin City Jail | 7.2 miles | 2023 | |
![]() | Cotter Tunnel | 7.3 miles | 2007 |
![]() | Cotter Tunnel | 7.5 miles | 2007 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100008598 in Record Group 79. |
| Marion County | All 28 listed properties in this county. |