From the record
One of 52 National Register listings published here for Searcy County · listed in 2020 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2020.
One of 52 National Register listings published here for Searcy County · listed in 2020 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 182 fires within 5 miles of Snowball Gymnasium between 1992 and 2020, burning about 11,423 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 104 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 104 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 49 |
| Debris and open burning | 18 |
| Natural | 9 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
| Smoking | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 3 September 2011 | Equipment and vehicle use | 15 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 11 September 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 August 2011 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 18 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 August 1998 | Smoking | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 August 2001 | Natural | 4.2 acres | Ozark-St. Francis National Forests | AUGUST |
| 2 August 2012 | Natural | 1.2 acres | Buffalo National River | MCCUTCHEON GAP SOUTH |
| 24 July 2011 | Arson/incendiarism | 8.0 acres | Buffalo National River | HANGOVER BLUFF |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Snowball, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 1995 and 2011: 4 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2008 | Thunderstorm Wind | Snowball | - | Trees were down at Arkansas Highway 377 and Zack Ridge Road. |
| June 2011 | Hail | Snowball | - | no account filed |
| April 2006 | Hail | Snowball | - | no account filed |
| April 2006 | Hail | Snowball | - | no account filed |
| April 1995 | Hail | Snowball | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Gates-Helm Farm | 1.1 miles | 1993 |
![]() | Willmering Tourist Cabins Historic District | 6.1 miles | 2000 |
| Oak Hill School House | 7.9 miles | 2019 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100005592 in Record Group 79. |
| Searcy County | All 52 listed properties in this county. |