BlockBefore
Photograph of Gates-Helm Farm
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Gates-Helm Farm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1993.

From the record

“The Gates-Helm Farm is a historic early homestead property in rural Searcy County, Arkansas. It is located on both sides of County Road 13, north of Snowball.”

Wikipedia article Gates-Helm Farm, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 52 National Register listings published here for Searcy County · listed in 1993 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 3 buildingss, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Gates--Helm Farm - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Co. Rd. 13, approximately 1 mi. N of jct. with Co. Rd. 250, Snowball, 72675
  • When was it listed? August 1993
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Searcy County MPS
  • Township. Calf Creek township
  • National Register reference number. 93000817 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

189 since 1992

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 189 fires within 5 miles of Gates-Helm Farm between 1992 and 2020, burning about 12,236 acres in total. 12 started naturally. 102 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism102
Missing data/not specified/undetermined48
Debris and open burning19
Natural12
Recreation and ceremony5
Smoking1
Other causes1
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
19 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2011Missing data/not specified/undetermined18 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 1998Smoking6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 August 2001Natural4.2 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsAUGUST
2 August 2012Natural1.2 acresBuffalo National RiverMCCUTCHEON GAP SOUTH
24 July 2011Arson/incendiarism8.0 acresBuffalo National RiverHANGOVER BLUFF
13 July 2000Arson/incendiarismunder an acreBuffalo National RiverWOOLUMPILE
9 June 2011Arson/incendiarism97 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Searcy County

Storms near this property

5 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Snowball, the town this property stands in, in 5 storm reports between 1995 and 2011: 4 hail, 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2008Thunderstorm WindSnowball-Trees were down at Arkansas Highway 377 and Zack Ridge Road.
June 2011HailSnowball-no account filed
April 2006HailSnowball-no account filed
April 2006HailSnowball-no account filed
April 1995HailSnowball-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Searcy County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Snowball Gymnasium1.1 miles2020
Willmering Tourist Cabins Historic District5.9 miles2000
St. Joe Missouri and North Arkansas Railroad Depot7.7 miles1993
Henley Hotel7.9 miles2011

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 93000817 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Searcy CountyAll 52 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.