From the record
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 2023 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2023.
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 2023 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
This property stands in Spadra 2 Township. Johnson County, Arkansas, the First Hundred Years, published 1921 gives that township a chapter of its own.
The chapter covers the township.
Machine-read from a century-old scan, so expect the errors a machine makes: misspelled names, dropped words, stray characters.
Read the whole chapter on Spadra 2 Township - 962 words on its settlement, mills, schools and churches.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 58 fires within 5 miles of Cabin Creek Bridge between 1998 and 2020, burning about 215 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 8 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 20 |
| Debris and open burning | 20 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 8 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 5 |
| Natural | 3 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 2 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 9 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 7 September 2001 | Equipment and vehicle use | 4.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 September 1998 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 30 September 2004 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 19 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 17 September 2019 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 6.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 16 September 1999 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 15 September 2000 | Equipment and vehicle use | 12 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Cabin Creek Bridge: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lamar, the town this property stands in, in 27 storm reports between 1995 and 2019: 14 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 3 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| March 2017 | Tornado (EF1) | Lamar | $20,000 | An EF-1 tornado touched down at Lamar, with severe roof damage to a home. |
| July 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | $20,000 | A tree was blown down onto a car. No one was injured. |
| October 2009 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | $15,000 | Large trees and power lines were down in Lamar. |
| April 2014 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | $10,000 | Large trees were blown down. |
| June 2009 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | $10,000 | Trees and power lines were blown down. |
| May 2013 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | $1,000 | Large limbs were blown down. |
| March 2019 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Trees were blown down in Lamar. |
| August 2018 | Flash Flood | Lamar | - | Flash flooding occurred on Arkansas Hwy 123 near the intersection of U.S. Hwy 64. |
| August 2018 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Trees were down on Cabin Creek Rd. in Lamar. |
| August 2018 | Hail | Lamar | - | Quarter sized hail fell in Lamar. |
| April 2017 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | A large tree limb was reported down. |
| March 2011 | Hail | Lamar | - | The maximum hail size was 1 inch in diameter, but most of the hail was 1/4 to 3/8 inch in diameter. |
| April 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Numerous large trees were reported down. One tree fell on a mobile home. Part of the roof was blown off a chicken house. |
| April 2007 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | A truss manufacturing business was destroyed. |
| August 2006 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Some trees were blown down. |
| June 2001 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | A few trees were blown down. |
| May 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Thunderstorm winds downed some large tree limbs. |
| July 1995 | Thunderstorm Wind | Lamar | - | Thunderstorm winds blew the roof off a large metal building, destroyed a farm shed and knocked down trees around Lamar. |
| May 2013 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| June 2008 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| May 2007 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| November 2003 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| May 2001 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| June 1999 | Flash Flood | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| May 1999 | Flash Flood | Lamar | - | no account filed |
| March 1998 | Hail | Lamar | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Dover to Clarksville Road Road -Hickeytown Road Segment | 2.1 miles | 2005 |
![]() | Pioneer House | 4.2 miles | 1995 |
![]() | Fremont Stokes House | 5.0 miles | 2008 |
![]() | Bunch-Walton Post #22 American Legion Hut | 5.0 miles | 2007 |
![]() | McKennon House | 5.1 miles | 1982 |
![]() | Dunlap House | 5.1 miles | 1982 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100008562 in Record Group 79. |
| Johnson County | All 35 listed properties in this county. |