BlockBefore
Photograph of Dover to Clarksville Road-Hickeytown Road Segment
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Dover to Clarksville Road Road -Hickeytown Road Segment

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2005.

From the record

“The Dover to Clarksville Road-Hickeytown Road Segment is a historic road section southeast of Lamar, Arkansas. It consists of a 1.3-mile (2.1 km) section of Old Hickeytown Road, beginning at its junction with County Road 2651.”

Wikipedia article Dover to Clarksville Road-Hickeytown Road Segment, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 35 National Register listings published here for Johnson County · listed in 2005 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Dover to Clarksville Road Road --Hickeytown Road Segment - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Hickeytown Rd. E of US 64, Lamar, 72846
  • When was it listed? May 2005
  • Category. structure
  • Also known as. Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS; Cherokee Trail of Tears MPS (Additional Documentation)
  • Township. Pittsburg township
  • National Register reference number. 05000464 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

58 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 58 fires within 5 miles of Dover to Clarksville Road Road -Hickeytown Road Segment between 1998 and 2020, burning about 214 acres in total. 3 started naturally. 6 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined21
Debris and open burning18
Equipment and vehicle use7
Arson/incendiarism6
Natural3
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Smoking1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2005Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 2001Equipment and vehicle use4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 1998Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 2004Smoking2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2004Debris and open burning3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Johnson County

Mines and quarries near this property

3 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 3 workings within 5 miles of Dover to Clarksville Road Road -Hickeytown Road Segment: 3 past producers. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Clay, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Johnson County

Storms near this property

27 since 1995

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Lamar, the town this property stands in, in 27 storm reports between 1995 and 2019: 14 thunderstorm wind, 9 hail, 3 flash flood, 1 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
March 2017Tornado (EF1)Lamar$20,000An EF-1 tornado touched down at Lamar, with severe roof damage to a home.
July 2014Thunderstorm WindLamar$20,000A tree was blown down onto a car. No one was injured.
October 2009Thunderstorm WindLamar$15,000Large trees and power lines were down in Lamar.
April 2014Thunderstorm WindLamar$10,000Large trees were blown down.
June 2009Thunderstorm WindLamar$10,000Trees and power lines were blown down.
May 2013Thunderstorm WindLamar$1,000Large limbs were blown down.
March 2019Thunderstorm WindLamar-Trees were blown down in Lamar.
August 2018Flash FloodLamar-Flash flooding occurred on Arkansas Hwy 123 near the intersection of U.S. Hwy 64.
August 2018Thunderstorm WindLamar-Trees were down on Cabin Creek Rd. in Lamar.
August 2018HailLamar-Quarter sized hail fell in Lamar.
April 2017Thunderstorm WindLamar-A large tree limb was reported down.
March 2011HailLamar-The maximum hail size was 1 inch in diameter, but most of the hail was 1/4 to 3/8 inch in diameter.
April 2007Thunderstorm WindLamar-Numerous large trees were reported down. One tree fell on a mobile home. Part of the roof was blown off a chicken house.
April 2007Thunderstorm WindLamar-A truss manufacturing business was destroyed.
August 2006Thunderstorm WindLamar-Some trees were blown down.
June 2001Thunderstorm WindLamar-A few trees were blown down.
May 1998Thunderstorm WindLamar-Thunderstorm winds downed some large tree limbs.
July 1995Thunderstorm WindLamar-Thunderstorm winds blew the roof off a large metal building, destroyed a farm shed and knocked down trees around Lamar.
May 2013HailLamar-no account filed
June 2008HailLamar-no account filed
May 2007HailLamar-no account filed
November 2003HailLamar-no account filed
May 2001HailLamar-no account filed
June 1999Flash FloodLamar-no account filed
May 1999HailLamar-no account filed
May 1999Flash FloodLamar-no account filed
March 1998HailLamar-no account filed

Every storm recorded in Johnson County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Cabin Creek Bridge2.1 miles2023
Pioneer House5.3 miles1995
St. Paul Lutheran School5.6 miles1999
Bunch-Walton Post #22 American Legion Hut6.2 miles2007
McKennon House6.3 miles1982
Fremont Stokes House6.3 miles2008

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 05000464 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Johnson CountyAll 35 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.