From the record
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Baxter County · listed in 2025 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2025.
One of 25 National Register listings published here for Baxter County · listed in 2025 · category: Structure.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 22 fires within 5 miles of Big Spring between 1998 and 2019, burning about 321 acres in total. None started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 8 |
| Debris and open burning | 7 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 5 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 27 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 12 September 2006 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 4 July 2001 | Misuse of fire by a minor | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 31 July 2017 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 26 June 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 25 June 2006 | Arson/incendiarism | 5.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 1 May 2018 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 2.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 14 April 2010 | Arson/incendiarism | 10 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 36 workings within 5 miles of Big Spring: 17 occurrences, 12 unknowns, 4 prospects, 2 past producers. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Zinc, Lead, Lead, Zinc, Stone. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shiras Mine | Iron, Zinc, Lead | Prospect | ||
| Corbin Iron Deposit | Iron | Occurrence | ||
| Flippin Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Unknown | ||
| Flippin Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Unknown Quarry | Stone | Unknown | ||
| Cincinnati Bill Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Erie Ozark Mine | Lead, Zinc | Unknown | ||
| Frost | Lead, Zinc | Unknown |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Cotter Water Tower | 6.2 miles | 2007 |
![]() | Cotter Bridge | 6.2 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Cotter High School Gymnasium, Old | 6.3 miles | 1995 |
![]() | Cotter Bridge | 6.4 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Rollins Hospital | 7.1 miles | 2007 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100011816 in Record Group 79. |
| Baxter County | All 25 listed properties in this county. |