BlockBefore
Photograph of Plummer's Station
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Plummer's Station

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

From the record

“Plummer's Station is a historic house on Gap Creek south of Plumerville in Conway County, Arkansas. Built about 1830 and altered several times since, it is one of the oldest surviving structures in the county.”

Wikipedia article Plummer's Station, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 50 National Register listings published here for Conway County · listed in 1975 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. S of Plummerville on Gap Creek, Plummerville, 72127
  • When was it listed? August 1975
  • Category. building
  • Township. Howard township
  • National Register reference number. 75000378 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

62 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 62 fires within 5 miles of Plummer's Station between 1997 and 2020, burning about 697 acres in total. 1 started naturally. 5 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning28
Missing data/not specified/undetermined25
Arson/incendiarism5
Equipment and vehicle use1
Railroad operations and maintenance1
Smoking1
Natural1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 September 1998Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2001Missing data/not specified/undetermined75 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 September 2004Debris and open burning15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined7.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 1997Debris and open burning16 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
14 September 2000Arson/incendiarism3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
31 August 2002Debris and open burning6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Conway County

Mines and quarries near this property

5 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 5 workings within 5 miles of Plummer's Station: 3 past producers, 2 producers. 2 still produce. What was taken out: Clay, Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Sardis QuarryStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
UnkClayProducer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkClayPast Producer

Every working recorded in Conway County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Sims Hotel0.1 miles1975
Plumerville School Building0.5 miles1992
Stuckey's (Plumerville)0.6 miles2022
Highway A-1 Bridge0.9 miles2021
US 64, Menifee Segment, Old5.0 miles2006
Cox House5.3 miles1974

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75000378 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Conway CountyAll 50 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.