BlockBefore

Bird Kiln

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

From the record

“The Bird Kiln is a historic pottery site in rural Dallas County, Arkansas. It is located off Arkansas Highway 9, about 6 miles (9.7 km) southwest of Leola.”

Wikipedia article Bird Kiln, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 41 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 1975 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. 6 mi. SW of Leola off AR 9, Leola, 72084
  • When was it listed? May 1975
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Smith township
  • National Register reference number. 75000381 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

87 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 87 fires within 5 miles of Bird Kiln between 1997 and 2020, burning about 1,134 acres in total. 9 started naturally. 19 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning24
Missing data/not specified/undetermined22
Arson/incendiarism19
Natural9
Equipment and vehicle use9
Misuse of fire by a minor2
Smoking1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
6 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 1997Arson/incendiarism10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
5 September 2014Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionDAL22043159
5 September 2010Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1999Smoking3.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2004Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
17 September 2002Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
11 September 2002Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Bird Kiln: 12 unknowns, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Dallas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

4 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Tulip Cemetery3.6 miles1983
Butler-Matthews Homestead3.8 miles1983
Wommack Kiln7.5 miles1975
Bank of Carthage7.9 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75000381 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dallas CountyAll 41 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.