BlockBefore

Wommack Kiln

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1975.

From the record

“The Wommack Kiln is a history pottery site in central rural Dallas County, Arkansas. Built in 1891 by John Welch, it is the best-preserved of a series of pottery works established in Dallas County in the later decades of the 19th century.”

Wikipedia article Wommack Kiln, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 41 National Register listings published here for Dallas County · listed in 1975 · category: Structure.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. SE of Wave on Wave Rd., Wave
  • When was it listed? June 1975
  • Category. structure
  • Township. Princeton township
  • National Register reference number. 75000384 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

56 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 56 fires within 5 miles of Wommack Kiln between 1997 and 2018, burning about 390 acres in total. 8 started naturally. 11 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning19
Arson/incendiarism11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Natural8
Equipment and vehicle use5
Misuse of fire by a minor1
Recreation and ceremony1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
9 September 2014Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionDAL22268692
9 September 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2006Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 September 2010Equipment and vehicle use2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 2000Natural6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 2000Natural10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 2000Natural5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2004Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Dallas County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 15 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 15 workings within 5 miles of Wommack Kiln: 14 unknowns, 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Dallas County

Storms near this property

1 since 2009

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Wave, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2009: 1 thunderstorm wind. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
July 2009Thunderstorm WindWave-Large limbs were down.

Every storm recorded in Dallas County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Butler-Matthews Homestead4.1 miles1983
Tulip Cemetery4.3 miles1983
George W. Mallett House4.3 miles1983
Princeton Cemetery4.8 miles1984
Culbertson Kiln5.5 miles1975
Bird Kiln7.5 miles1975

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 75000384 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Dallas CountyAll 41 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.