BlockBefore
Photograph of Orvall Gammill Barn
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Orvall Gammill Barn

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1985.

From the record

“The Orvall Gammill Barn is a historic barn on the northeast side of Stone County Road 87 northwest of Big Springs, Arkansas. It is a two-story structure, built out of a combination of logs and timber framing, with a gable roof, the gable oriented toward the road.”

Wikipedia article Orvall Gammill Barn, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 58 National Register listings published here for Stone County · listed in 1985 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Gammill, Orvall, Barn - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. NW of Big Springs, Big Springs, 72680
  • When was it listed? September 1985
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Stone County MRA
  • District. District 2
  • National Register reference number. 85002229 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

81 since 1993

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 81 fires within 5 miles of Orvall Gammill Barn between 1993 and 2020, burning about 1,259 acres in total. None started naturally. 23 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined27
Arson/incendiarism23
Debris and open burning20
Equipment and vehicle use4
Power generation/transmission/distribution3
Recreation and ceremony2
Smoking1
Fireworks1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 2000Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsFLAT
25 September 2005Missing data/not specified/undetermined3.0 acresOzark-St. Francis National ForestsPHILL
20 September 2000Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
2 September 1994Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National Forestsnot named
19 September 2000Arson/incendiarism134 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2000Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
15 September 2000Arson/incendiarismunder an acreOzark-St. Francis National ForestsGARAGE
11 September 2012Missing data/not specified/undeterminedunder an acreArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Stone County

Mines and quarries near this property

6 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 6 workings within 5 miles of Orvall Gammill Barn: 5 producers, 1 occurrence. 5 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Copper, Iron, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Tantalum, Zinc. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkCopper, Iron, Phosphorus-Phosphates, Tantalum, ZincOccurrence
UnkStoneProducer
UnkStoneProducer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionProducer

Every working recorded in Stone County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
George Anderson House0.8 miles1985
John Avey Barn0.8 miles1985
Clarence Anderson Barn1.9 miles1985
Roasting Ear Church and School2.7 miles1985
Jim Morris Barn3.5 miles1985
Wesley Copeland House4.4 miles1985

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 85002229 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Stone CountyAll 58 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.