BlockBefore

Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991.

From the record

“The Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District encompasses an early 20th-century lumber mill in Doniphan, Arkansas, on the eastern outskirts of Searcy. The district includes eight buildings, most built out of precast concrete, and Doniphan Lake.”

Wikipedia article Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1991 · category: District.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • Address. Around Doniphan Lake off AR 367, Doniphan, 72082
  • When was it listed? September 1991
  • Category. district
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Dogwood township
  • National Register reference number. 91001196 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

50 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 50 fires within 5 miles of Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District between 1997 and 2020, burning about 428 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning22
Missing data/not specified/undetermined18
Arson/incendiarism4
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2001Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
29 September 1999Missing data/not specified/undetermined9.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1999Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2000Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2014Debris and open burning8.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionWHI17454828
9 August 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 of 13 shown

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 13 workings within 5 miles of Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District: 12 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
MidwestStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Searcy Quarry & MillStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in White County

Storms near this property

8 since 2011

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Doniphan, the town this property stands in, in 8 storm reports between 2011 and 2023: 4 hail, 2 thunderstorm wind, 2 flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
May 2022Thunderstorm WindDoniphan$10,000Pictures were emailed to the office showing multiple trees down around Cloverdale Blvd. One tree that fell caused minor damage to a house.
April 2011Thunderstorm WindDoniphan$5,000Several trees were blown down along U.S. Highway 67/167.
March 2023FloodDoniphan-Heavy rain brought flooding to the Little Red River at Judsonia in late March.
March 2023FloodDoniphan-Heavy rain brought flooding to the Little Red River at Judsonia in early March.
April 2022HailDoniphan-This was an mPING report.
April 2022HailDoniphan-This was an mPING report. Corrected time.
April 2022HailDoniphan-This was an mPING report.
November 2017HailDoniphan-The public reported nickel sized hail at the Starbucks on the east side of Searcy.

Every storm recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mills House1.3 miles1991
Hall, Fred, House1.3 miles1991
Robertson House1.3 miles1991
Lightle House2.1 miles1992
Judsonia Bridge2.2 miles1990
Judsonia Bridge2.3 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001196 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.