BlockBefore
Photograph of Robertson House
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Robertson House

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1991.

From the record

“The Robertson House is a historic house at 2nd and Dandridge Streets in Kensett, Arkansas. It is a wood-frame structure, with a dormered hip roof, and a single-story porch wrapping around two sides.”

Wikipedia article Robertson House (Kensett, Arkansas), CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1991 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. Jct.of 2nd and Dandridge Sts., Kensett, 72082
  • When was it listed? September 1991
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Dogwood township
  • National Register reference number. 91001221 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

46 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 46 fires within 5 miles of Robertson House between 1997 and 2020, burning about 436 acres in total. None started naturally. 7 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning19
Missing data/not specified/undetermined14
Arson/incendiarism7
Equipment and vehicle use4
Recreation and ceremony1
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2001Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 September 2012Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2010Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2010Arson/incendiarism75 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
27 September 2004Missing data/not specified/undetermined4.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1999Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2000Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2014Debris and open burning8.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionWHI17454828

Every fire recorded in White County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Robertson House: 9 past producers, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Clay. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkClayPast Producer
MidwestStone, Crushed/BrokenPast Producer
Searcy Quarry & MillStone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkStonePast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unk Gravel Pits 2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
Unk Quarries 2Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer
White Pit No 1Sand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in White County

Storms near this property

11 since 1994

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Kensett, the town this property stands in, in 11 storm reports between 1994 and 2021: 4 hail, 4 thunderstorm wind, 2 tornado, 1 flash flood. The reports record 1 injury. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2017Tornado (EF2)Kensett1 hurt, $70,000This tornado was rated EF2 with winds estimated at 115 MPH. There was damage to several homes as well as small shops and outbuildings. Some homes had exterior walls collapsed.
April 2010Tornado (EF1)Kensett$200,000This was the fourth of five tornadoes spawned by the same supercell thunderstorm. Roofs of residences and outbuildings were damaged. Numerous trees were blown down.
April 2010Thunderstorm WindKensett$100,000Four houses sustained roof damage. A porch/carport was blown off one of the houses.Trees were blown down.
August 2011Thunderstorm WindKensett$7,000Large trees were blown down.
May 2021HailKensett-Quarter size hail was shared on social media in Kensett.
January 2020Thunderstorm WindKensett-Law enforcement reported 2 power poles knocked over near the 370 block of Hwy 385 South.
November 2017HailKensett-A storm spotter submitted a report of half-dollar sized hail, from the NWS webpage.
January 2007Flash FloodKensett-Highway 323 southeast of Kensett was closed due to high water.
July 1996Thunderstorm WindKensett-no account filed
February 1996HailKensett-no account filed
April 1994HailKensett-no account filed

Every storm recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Mills House0.1 miles1991
Hall, Fred, House0.1 miles1991
Doniphan Lumber Mill Historic District1.3 miles1991
Lightle House2.8 miles1992
Judsonia Bridge2.9 miles1990
Judsonia Bridge3.0 miles1990

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001221 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.