BlockBefore
Photograph of Otha Walker Homestead
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Otha Walker Homestead

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Otha Walker Homestead is a historic house on the south side of Arkansas Highway 36, east of the small town of West Point, Arkansas. It is a double-pile central hall plan structure, topped by a hip roof and clad in novelty siding.”

Wikipedia article Otha Walker Homestead, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Walker, Otha, Homestead - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. AR 36, West Point, 72178
  • When was it listed? July 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Dogwood township
  • National Register reference number. 91001354 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

34 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 34 fires within 5 miles of Otha Walker Homestead between 1997 and 2020, burning about 373 acres in total. None started naturally. 9 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Missing data/not specified/undetermined11
Debris and open burning10
Arson/incendiarism9
Equipment and vehicle use3
Smoking1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 1998Arson/incendiarism1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
28 September 2010Arson/incendiarism75 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
26 September 1999Debris and open burning5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
22 September 2000Debris and open burning2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 September 2014Debris and open burning8.0 acresArkansas Forestry CommissionWHI17454828
9 August 2020Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
6 August 1997Arson/incendiarism2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 2013Missing data/not specified/undetermined1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Mines and quarries near this property

1 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 1 working within 5 miles of Otha Walker Homestead: 1 past producer. None of them still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionPast Producer

Every working recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Hall, Fred, House3.6 miles1991
Mills House3.6 miles1991
Robertson House3.6 miles1991
Judsonia Bridge4.3 miles1990
Judsonia Bridge4.4 miles1990
James W. Edie House4.4 miles1991

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001354 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.