BlockBefore
Photograph of Thomas Jefferson Hale General Merchandise Store
Photograph by Valis55, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Thomas Jefferson Hale General Merchandise Store

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Thomas Jefferson Hale General Merchandise Store is a historic commercial building in rural south-central White County, Arkansas. It is located south of Searcy, at the southwest corner of the junction of County Roads 62 and 433, known locally as Vinity Corner.”

Wikipedia article Thomas Jefferson Hale General Merchandise Store, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 203 National Register listings published here for White County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building as contributing to the listing.
  • Listed as. Hale, Thomas Jefferson, General Merchandise Store - the National Register files a house under its owner's surname.
  • Address. Jct of Co. Rds. 62 and 433, Vinity Corner, 72143
  • When was it listed? July 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. White County MPS
  • Township. Gum Springs township
  • National Register reference number. 91001358 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

28 since 1998

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 28 fires within 5 miles of Thomas Jefferson Hale General Merchandise Store between 1998 and 2020, burning about 428 acres in total. None started naturally. 4 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Debris and open burning11
Missing data/not specified/undetermined9
Arson/incendiarism4
Smoking3
Equipment and vehicle use1

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
29 September 2010Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
19 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
16 September 2019Missing data/not specified/undetermined15 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
10 September 1998Smoking1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
7 August 2006Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
4 August 2018Missing data/not specified/undetermined5.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
20 August 1998Equipment and vehicle use1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 August 2006Debris and open burning58 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in White County

Storms near this property

1 since 2018

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Vinity Corner, the town this property stands in, in 1 storm report in 2018: 1 flash flood. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.

WhenEvent Place namedHarm What the report says
February 2018Flash FloodVinity Corner-Bayou Rd. was closed due to high water.

Every storm recorded in White County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Emmett McDonald House3.8 miles1992
Childers Farmstead4.8 miles1992
Booth-Weir House4.9 miles1991
Caldwell House5.0 miles1991
McRae Jail5.0 miles1992
Griffithville School6.1 miles1992

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 91001358 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
White CountyAll 203 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Storms. NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information, Storm Events Database https://www.ncei.noaa.gov/stormevents/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105. Narratives are quoted verbatim from the National Weather Service report and are not edited or summarised.