BlockBefore
Photograph of Jamestown School
Photograph by Kennethrorie, CC BY-SA 3.0. Via Wikimedia Commons.

Jamestown School

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1992.

From the record

“The Jamestown School is a historic school building in rural central western Independence County, Arkansas. It is located in the hamlet of Jamestown, just north of Arkansas Highway 230 at the junction of Race Street and Snapp Lane.”

Wikipedia article Jamestown School, CC BY-SA 4.0.

One of 43 National Register listings published here for Independence County · listed in 1992 · category: Building.

Sources: the Wikipedia article · the National Register database, National Park Service

The listing

  • What is counted as historic. The nomination lists 1 building, 1 structure as contributing to the listing.
  • Address. N of AR 230, Jamestown, 72501
  • When was it listed? September 1992
  • Category. building
  • Also known as. Public Schools in the Ozarks MPS
  • Township. Greenbrier township
  • National Register reference number. 92001106 - assigned by the National Park Service when the property was listed.

Fires near this property

64 since 1997

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 64 fires within 5 miles of Jamestown School between 1997 and 2019, burning about 1,056 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 24 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Reported cause Fires
Arson/incendiarism24
Debris and open burning16
Missing data/not specified/undetermined14
Equipment and vehicle use5
Recreation and ceremony3
Natural2

The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.

DateCause SizeReported by Name on the report
7 September 2004Arson/incendiarism6.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 September 2016Missing data/not specified/undetermined40 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
18 September 2004Recreation and ceremony2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
11 September 2011Debris and open burning10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
30 August 1999Missing data/not specified/undetermined10 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
23 August 2012Missing data/not specified/undetermined2.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
21 August 2000Natural18 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named
3 July 2011Debris and open burning1.0 acresArkansas Forestry Commissionnot named

Every fire recorded in Independence County

Mines and quarries near this property

10 within 5 miles

Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 10 workings within 5 miles of Jamestown School: 9 unknowns, 1 producer. 1 still produces. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Manganese, Stone, Iron. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.

Where SiteCommodity StatusRecorded
Crusher #2Stone, Crushed/BrokenProducer
UnkIronUnknown
BatesvilleManganeseUnknown
GreenfieldManganeseUnknown
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkStoneUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown
UnkSand and Gravel, ConstructionUnknown

Every working recorded in Independence County

Map coverage status

No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.

Listed places nearby

6 within 8 miles

Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.

Photograph PropertyDistance Listed
Wyatt House3.2 miles1999
Wheel Store, The5.7 miles1988
Adler House5.8 miles1982
Batesville Confederate Monument5.8 miles1996
Luster Urban Farmstead5.8 miles1983
Dondy Building5.8 miles1982

Sources for this property

National Archives recordThe nomination case file for reference 92001106 in Record Group 79.
Wikipedia articleCommunity-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA.
Independence CountyAll 43 listed properties in this county.

Provenance

  • Listing record. National Park Service National Register of Historic Places, listed-properties dataset, current to 2026-05-22.
  • Map join. Address geocoded through the United States Census geocoder, then tested against the published boundary of every sheet in the USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection.
  • How this page is made. Listing fields come from federal records; map-sheet coverage is a labelled coordinate-to-boundary calculation, not a source-field claim.
  • Wildfire. Short, Karen C. 2022. Spatial wildfire occurrence data for the United States, 1992-2020 [FPA_FOD_20221014]. 6th Edition. Fort Collins, CO: Forest Service Research Data Archive. https://doi.org/10.2737/RDS-2013-0009.6 Collected with United States Government funding and usable without additional permissions or fees.
  • Mines and quarries. USGS Mineral Resources Data System (MRDS) https://mrdata.usgs.gov/mrds/ A work of the United States government, no copyright under 17 U.S.C. 105.