From the record
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 1995 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1995.
One of 35 National Register listings published here for Crawford County · listed in 1995 · category: Building.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service · the Wikipedia article
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 226 fires within 5 miles of Slack-Comstock-Marshall Farm between 1992 and 2020, burning about 12,366 acres in total. 2 started naturally. 99 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Arson/incendiarism | 99 |
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 59 |
| Debris and open burning | 41 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 12 |
| Smoking | 5 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 5 |
| Natural | 2 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 1 |
| Railroad operations and maintenance | 1 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2000 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 30 acres | Ozark-St. Francis National Forests | SHILOH RD. |
| 3 September 1998 | Arson/incendiarism | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 28 September 2003 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | Ozark-St. Francis National Forests | SHILOH |
| 22 September 2005 | Debris and open burning | 30 acres | Oklahoma Division of Forestry | 30551 |
| 20 September 2004 | Debris and open burning | 8.0 acres | Oklahoma Division of Forestry | 30523 |
| 20 September 2004 | Arson/incendiarism | 15 acres | Oklahoma Division of Forestry | 30524 |
| 12 September 2011 | Debris and open burning | 1.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
| 10 September 1997 | Debris and open burning | 3.0 acres | Arkansas Forestry Commission | not named |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The National Weather Service names Uniontown, the town this property stands in, in 17 storm reports between 1995 and 2024: 9 hail, 5 thunderstorm wind, 3 tornado. No death or injury is recorded in these reports. Each account below is quoted exactly as the forecast office filed it, from the NOAA Storm Events Database, and each date opens the federal record of that event.
| When | Event | Place named | Harm | What the report says |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2017 | Tornado (EF1) | Uniontown | $30,000 | This is the second segment of a two segment tornado. In Crawford County, this tornado destroyed the roof of a mobile home, damaged outbuildings, and uprooted trees near the state line. Numerous trees were snapped and uprooted as it moved across Highway 59 and Arkansas 220, finally dissipating after crossing White Water Road, east-southeast of Natural Dam. Based on this damage, maximum estimated wind in this segment of the tornado was 95 to 105 mph. |
| March 2018 | Hail | Uniontown | $20,000 | Large hail up to golfball size covered the ground several inches deep. |
| January 2013 | Tornado (EF2) | Uniontown | $20,000 | This is the second of two segments of this tornado. The tornado moved into Crawford County, Arkansas, tearing a path through the woods of more than 1/3 of a mile wide. Numerous hardwood and softwood trees were snapped or uprooted. The most pronounced tree damage was on Rainwater Road northwest of Uniontown. Power poles were snapped and a home had minor damage. Based on this damage, maximum estimated wind in the tornado was 115 to 125 mph. |
| March 2018 | Hail | Uniontown | $15,000 | no account filed |
| November 1998 | Thunderstorm Wind | Uniontown | $5,000 | Barns were damaged by thunderstorm winds. |
| March 2012 | Thunderstorm Wind | Uniontown | $2,000 | Strong thunderstorm wind damaged trees and fences. |
| March 2012 | Tornado (EF1) | Uniontown | $2,000 | A tornado snapped or uprooted a number of softwood trees and several hardwood trees. It also damaged the roof of a mobile home. Maximum estimated wind in the tornado based on this damage was 95 to 105 mph. |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Uniontown | - | Strong thunderstorm wind uprooted trees. |
| May 2024 | Thunderstorm Wind | Uniontown | - | Strong thunderstorm wind uprooted trees. |
| June 2004 | Thunderstorm Wind | Uniontown | - | Thundestorm winds estimated at 70 miles an hour blew down a few trees. |
| October 1995 | Hail | Uniontown | - | A severe thunderstorm in Crawford County produced dime-size hail at Uniontown and eight miles north of Mountainburg. |
| March 2018 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
| April 2014 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
| May 2008 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
| April 2004 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
| March 1999 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
| April 1998 | Hail | Uniontown | - | no account filed |
No historic map-sheet match is published for this property yet. That does not mean no map exists. This record needs a coordinate-quality review before it can be joined to a sheet boundary. Browse the county's mapped places while that work is pending.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Cedarville School Building | 4.9 miles | 1992 |
![]() | Lee Creek Bridge | 5.1 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Lee Creek Bridge | 5.1 miles | 1990 |
![]() | Butterfield Overland Mail Route Lucian Wood Road Segment | 5.1 miles | 2009 |
| Wing School | 5.7 miles | 2023 | |
![]() | Butterfield Overland Mail Route Lee Creek Road Segment | 7.6 miles | 2009 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 95000694 in Record Group 79. |
| Wikipedia article | Community-written account of this property, licensed CC BY-SA. |
| Crawford County | All 35 listed properties in this county. |