From the record
One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 2017. 12 historic topographic surveys show this location, the earliest from 1897.
One of 32 National Register listings published here for San Luis Obispo County · listed in 2017 · category: District.
Sources: the National Register database, National Park Service
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal wildfire occurrence database lists 432 fires within 5 miles of Halcyon Historic District between 1992 and 2020, burning about 1,922 acres in total. 4 started naturally. 20 were recorded as arson. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a fire counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Reported cause | Fires |
|---|---|
| Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 211 |
| Equipment and vehicle use | 112 |
| Debris and open burning | 31 |
| Misuse of fire by a minor | 24 |
| Arson/incendiarism | 20 |
| Smoking | 15 |
| Power generation/transmission/distribution | 7 |
| Recreation and ceremony | 7 |
| Natural | 4 |
| Other causes | 1 |
The most recent of them, most recent first, with the day each was reported and the service that recorded it.
| Date | Cause | Size | Reported by | Name on the report |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 8 September 2009 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | California Department of Forestry & Fire Protection | not named |
| 8 September 2007 | Arson/incendiarism | 1.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | OCEANO DUNES STATE PA 125 |
| 8 September 2004 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | EWING |
| 6 September 2009 | Equipment and vehicle use | 1.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | LOS BERROS RD / POMEROY R |
| 5 September 1992 | Equipment and vehicle use | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | SLU 2313 |
| 4 September 2020 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | 1.0 acres | San Luis Obispo Unit | EMS3CDF/ |
| 30 September 2020 | Power generation/transmission/distribution | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | FAIR OAKS AVE AG |
| 30 September 2001 | Missing data/not specified/undetermined | under an acre | San Luis Obispo Unit | SEVADA LN |
Regional context, not property-specific evidence. The federal mineral resources record lists 15 workings within 5 miles of Halcyon Historic District: 6 past producers, 5 occurrences, 4 producers. 4 still produce. What was taken out: Sand and Gravel, Construction, Stone, Crushed/Broken, Stone, Dimension, Uranium. Distance is straight-line from the map coordinates, so a quarry counted here may appear on a neighbouring settlement's page as well.
| Where | Site | Commodity | Status | Recorded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Arroyo Grande Creek Deposit | Gypsum-Anhydrite | Occurrence | ||
| Caen Quarry | Stone, Dimension | Past Producer | ||
| Newsome Marl Deposit | Calcium | Occurrence | ||
| Owen Group | Uranium | Producer | ||
| Unnamed Diatomite Deposit | Diatomite | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Limestone Deposit | Limestone, General | Occurrence | ||
| Unnamed Pumice Occurrence | Pumice | Occurrence | ||
| Caen Quarry | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Past Producer | ||
| Oceano Sand Pit | Stone, Crushed/Broken | Producer | ||
| Gravel Pit | Sand and Gravel, Construction | Past Producer |
United States Geological Survey topographic sheets whose coverage includes this point. Matched by taking the middle of the area the National Park Service maps for this listing, then testing that coordinate against the published boundary of every sheet.
Other National Register properties close enough to walk or drive between, ordered by distance from this one. Both positions come from the same geocoding pass that matched these properties to their map sheets.
| Photograph | Property | Distance | Listed |
|---|---|---|---|
![]() | Arroyo Grande IOOF Hall | 1.7 miles | 1991 |
![]() | John Price House | 4.0 miles | 1988 |
![]() | Dana Adobe | 6.4 miles | 1971 |
| Corral de Piedra | 6.5 miles | 1978 |
| National Archives record | The nomination case file for reference 100000783 in Record Group 79. |
| San Luis Obispo County | All 32 listed properties in this county. |